Volcanoes and Earthquakes


Advertisement
Published: March 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Buenos Dias Amigos,
We arrived in Antigua, Guatemala a few days ago and will stay here for one week. The town is loco! The streets are paved with cobblestone and there are no traffic lights. The cars, trucks and large school buses drive as fast as possible through the streets and I haven't seen one accident yet. The food here is really good mostly consisting of fresh fruit in the morning and for lunch(Mango, Watermelon, Pineapple, Grapefruit and Cantelope). The dorm I am staying in has five beds and my roommates are cool. I have heard some some of the craziest travel stories of my life including impalement, leeches, malaria, worms and chasing an pound piece of cheese down a steep hill. The town is scattered with church's and convents from the 1700's and they are very beautiful ruins. In the day this town was hit with many earthquakes and the people rebuilt it each until 1776 when it was nearly leveled to the ground. Tomarrow Travis and I are will climb to the summit of Volcano Pacaya which is an active vocano spitting hot lava into the air. I will definitly post photos! Other than that I have been taking it easy by reading and strolling around town. It is very festive here and the women dress in traditional cloth as they balance baskets on their head. Each building is painted a different color and the town is filled with Gringos. I miss all of you and you are in my thoughts each day. If anyone wants to move here they only need two thousand and they could rent an apartment for a year without having to work!

God Bless,
Chad

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb