China is a different world


Advertisement
Asia
October 1st 2006
Published: November 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

A toilet and basket for tissueA toilet and basket for tissueA toilet and basket for tissue

Toilets in China meet the basic necessity but bring your own tissue along.
Everything is different in China. A whole new culture. I've had several questions so let me do a mini question answer log.


What are the bathrooms like?


China's bathroom are toilets. They vary. Some are just holes in the floor with enamel bases and others are the commodes that we know in the U.S. It's common and advisable to take tissue with you at all times because oftentimes bathrooms don't have tissue. And you can't throw tissue in toilets so you will always have a basket next to the toilet. But if you're just desperate to get the comfort of home, you get that feeling at a McDonalds or Pizza Hut and they can be found in many place here but you're going to pay prizes that are likely to be 3xs that of the average Chinese resturant.

What are your living quarters like?


I'm quite comfortable here in China. I have the basic necessities. My one problem is elevators seem to be scarce where I'm at and I live on the sixth floor. It's not pleasant but I have a huge health benefit (well I want to think I do) by having to walk six flights everyday
Basic water filter all over BeijingBasic water filter all over BeijingBasic water filter all over Beijing

This is the same water filter used all over Beijing. Hot water is a common request and it's easy as 123 to get.
at least four times. I think my memory has increase too because I try never to forget anything.

Can you drink the water in China?


No, we can't but everyone seems to use the same basic water filter all over Beijing. I see it everywhere I go. China has a water problem. Perhaps too many people. Nearly 1.3 billion or so. One interesting thing about China is that some things have little variety and the water filter is one of those things. Same one everywhere. Drinks are another. You see the same basic half dozen drinks or so all over Beijing.

Can you get cold drinks in China?


When I arrived, I was looking for something cold to drink for days. I never really found anything as cold as we have in the U.S. Then my littliest one got sick and had a fever over 100 degrees. It went on for a couple of days. I went to get medical advice and they insisted coming to my apartment. Well, when they arrived the first problem they encountered was the air. So I got a good tongue thrashing in Chinese. You know, one of those kind you get from
Adding Electric UnitsAdding Electric UnitsAdding Electric Units

Suppose you could see each electric unit you used and when you used it. Well come to Beijing and it will happen.
your grandmother when you're done something wrong and then I had to turn the air off immediately. And then right after that I got another tongue thrashing in Chinese. You know, the one you get after your grandmother tells your mother and father. This time they made me sit down and gave me a lesson about the use of hot drinks as opposed to cold drinks. So I finally figured it out. Cold air and cold drinks aren't popular in China, especially cold drinks. And these water filters have hot water that comes out so hot, you better know what you're doing. And you better stop drinking those cold drinks and never give them to your children. I was a fast learner. I got it fast!!!

So drinking hot water is common in China and medical evidence suggest cold drinks are harmful to your health for many reasons. So now guess what? Each morning and each night I have a hot drink. It really makes me feel great. You should try it.

Adding Electricity


I'm thinking, let your children add those units and see this. The most interesting thing about my living quarters is how we get electricity.
Subway crowdSubway crowdSubway crowd

It's shoulder to shoulder most of the time on subways.
It's in units that we have to keep track of so you're always aware of what you're using. In fact, you become aware of what uses a lot of electricity and of course you conserve by turning it off when it's not in use. we even turn off the water heater when it's not in use. We get 300 free units per month in the winter but when that's gone, you have to buy your own. And if you let it run out on Friday after everything is closed, well be prepared to use candles for the weekend until Monday. There are no emergency after hour groups like CP&L waiting to help you. It cost about 70 rmb for 100 units. Go to www.tealic.com to see the U.S. rate conversion. Just put in 70 in the China box and click on 'click to convert' and you will see the conversion of 14 countries including U.S. You can also go to yahoo.com and then fianance and scroll down midway the page to converter.

Getting Around In Beijing


Getting around in China is tricky and you had better know how to do it. Buses and subways and taxies and bicyles are
Beijing's highway trafficBeijing's highway trafficBeijing's highway traffic

The highway is generally packed with cars everyday. And if there is a special event, never be late or you're never make it.
our means of transportation. And it's an adventure everytime.
If I ever write a book, I'll entitle it "Getting a Seat" in China. The buses and subways are literally shoulder to shoulder. They have the term wall to wall beat. But there is always room for more people. It's amazing. Just when you think it's full, well, here comes someone else. Many foreigners just give up and catch taxies. There are so many people here, somewhere between 1.3 and 1.4 billion. Yes, the world's largest pop.

Beijing's Senior Citizens


The activities for seniors are cool and the two that I love the most are the exercise parks and the dances. The exercise parks are for everyone but the seniors seem to use them most often. Now when I first arrived, I was at the exercise park every morning. This is where I observed the community coming together to play the popular game ping pong, while some practiced tia chi and still while others whirled around on the many varieties of exercise equipment. The park is colorful, exciting and serves as a nice meeting place. Now the dancing in the park was another whole wonderful and exciting exercise all to
Beijing's Exercise ParksBeijing's Exercise ParksBeijing's Exercise Parks

Parks are filled early mornings & late evenings. I did hang out with them every morning 6am but as the weather got colder, I vanished. They didn't.
itself. On any evening and especially Friday, Saturday or Sunday, you can go to the park and watch seniors engaging in ball room and square dancing, twirling around with those fancy dresses that flair out at the slightest turn. It's the most beautiful sight you want to see. I'm often in awe with a fixed smile of excitment.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Seniors and ISeniors and I
Seniors and I

These seniors grabed me for a photo and I loved it because they were loving and full of life.


15th January 2007

Enlightening!
I am glad to see you and your son arrived safely. As I requested on many times to be included in your experience…and you have included me. I thank you for remembering. This gives me insight as to things we take for granted in the US. I will continue to read and share this with my family. I may even have my children do an educational project with this information. Give my best to your son, safe travel and I will see you when you return.

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0963s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb