Floating Markets and Village Bike Ride


Advertisement
Asia
December 2nd 2014
Published: December 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

We had an early breakfast this morning, still at the Mekong Lodge. Banana pancakes and omelettes. Great coffee although we keep having to ask for more milk, they drink it so strong.

Off on the bikes again this morning. What an amazing way to spend a morning. My backside pulled up ok so that was good. It was a much bigger ride today, about an hour and a half including a ferry trip over to an island. We rode around the island and stopped at a little place to try some local fruit. We were entertained by the family there who put on a musical show for us and a little pantomime which was funny. The kids tried their hand playing a musical instrument which only had one string to it.

There were a few stacks on the bike along the way, Tom was first, sliding off the track, it was pretty daunting to get out of the way of the oncoming motorbikes and the track was sometimes muddy pebbles and tiny bridges with no railing. Harry was next, crashing into the back of Tom after Tom stopped suddenly. I did a bit of a bmx bandit style slide into a muddy embankment which was impressive if I do say so myself. I did survive in tact although did get a bike seat up my **#%£*.

Next Toms chain broke off his bike, these poor old bikes have seen better days but it's still a great tour.

I think I have to finish this blog now as Harry is reading it over my shoulder, reading my words in a stupid voice (I think it's that pedo off family guy) and Max is reading it in a Morgan Freeman Voice. They are making my words sound stupid so I will leave it for now, before I feel the need to strangle them both.

We also saw the floating market today which was interesting, each boat advertises its wares but stringing a sample,up on a big pole.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb