Sickness in Taiwan & God's Loving Hand


Advertisement
Asia
November 23rd 2014
Published: November 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up with pain in my abdomen that hurt so much I felt I need to go to emergency. It hurt so much I couldn't even go back to sleep. I knew the problem was the medication I had taken that had a bad effect on me. It was 3am, and the doctor's office I wanted to go to opened at 8am. So I waited until then, praying and hoping for the best. Upon arrival at the doctor's office, I was struck with frustration and overwhelmed as I saw the bilingual clinic was closed. What was I to do now? It was early morning, and Sunday nonetheless, and the majority of clinics were closed. I called several friends, to see if they knew of a doctor's office that would be open on a Sunday. Finally, I got a hold of one friend who searched information for me, and found an open clinic for me a few subway stops away. It was only open for 4 hours today--8am to 12pm. It was 10. I made it to the clinic at 10:30am, and was happy to see upon arrival many bilingual signs in English. When I went to the receptionist, I asked her to fill in the information for me, as I don't know how to write Chinese-(learned in college, but that was a while ago, and have since forgotten). She was very polite, and used my ID Card to fill in my information on the computer. When my number was called, I walked into the office. (I had rehearsed over and over in my head what I was going to say in Chinese, to make sure I could clearly get my point across). As I came in the doctor's office, he smiled, and said "Hi", then proceeded to speak to me in English! It was quite a relief, and miracle of God. Because I was quite sick and not sure how my Chinese was gonna come out. The doctor was super friendly, and warm-hearted, and also really funny! As he spoke, he assured me everything would be ok, and I felt like God was speaking through him, as he was so calm and reassuring. As I left with my medication I had a peace that everything was going to be just as the doctor said--ok.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb