Starting Off in China


Advertisement
Asia
June 24th 2014
Published: June 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I'm already overtaken with feelings of nostalgia from my trip to Peru. Too much is going on in my head (most likely Jet lag) and all the people and zhongwen make it even more ridiculous.

So I got off the 19 hour plane ride when I sat next to that smelly asian dude and then his son who just graduated high school. Whew was that tiring. I had like 7 dreams about giant blobs of green coming to eat me while trying to sleep on the wall of the plane. I had dat window seat doe. I took 2 short videos with my phone. Got some cool footage of the polar ice caps. I thought the ice would be less flat, but then again I was at 30,000+ feet. Oh yeah, the mountains right next to Beijing were beautiful and covered with clouds. When we got off the plane, Sophia and her mom were still waiting there. So nice. When we got to the hostel, it was locked and we ran the doorbell so many times a homeless man got up and glared at us and moved his "home". Eventually we got into the damned place. Got some cool photos of there as well. Expensive, but worth it I think. We were staying in a hudong after all. It was called templeside hostel...

Me and Malcolm immediately got up the next day and ate steamed buns filled with meats; particularly shrimp and beef. So. Damn. Tasty. Then we walked like 3 miles to the Forbidden city, went through some park where a man was singing loudly to this badly tuned violin, and saw mao and all his glory. Took Sophia out to lunch to which she promptly paid for afterwards -_- and then went to the Capital Normal University to check in. Slept a bit, went to the same place we went for lunch by seredipity, came back, played some Binding of Isaac so as not to sleep, and then slept.

That Tuesday:

Tour of campus, Orientation, Lunch, Badmitten failures, Orientation II, Pre-classes feast and then who knows what.

I saw me some squat toilets. It's real. Gotta go to the feast now and meet my Chinese buddy. Will upload pictures when I can.



Peacie.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb