Arrival to Delhi Day


Advertisement
Asia
February 1st 2013
Published: February 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

010213

Went to Han by train last night, after a very nice dinner at the local Greek restaurant in Uden with the kids.

Although we promise to go to sleep early, I arrive after 2200hrs and we sit and talk our way through the plans for the coming two and a half week.

0730hrs in the car, to arrive well before 0900hrs at Schiphol.

Han drops me witht he luggage, he goes to park the car. Check via business class - thks to my flying blue gold elite card, and off to the lounge for breakfast. No upgrades available, the flight is full.

Flight is uneventful, and the seven hours go by faster than expected.

Getting off the plain, the luggage, customs with the usual unfriendly stamp people (is this an internationally recognised part of the job description?), arrival at the enrtance hall: super fast. Indians received so far ten points, what an efficiency. Ok, for every job there are three people, and minimal five stamps are reuired, but it is done in lightning speed.

Except the reception of the travel company, they are 20 minutes late. Not really, as we landed half an hour before schedule....

I change money (super fast, excellent rate) and impatient as I am, I go outside the terminal, to see if they are there. Han stays with the luggage and has a look at the numerous paper plates for our names.

Nobody with our name outside, and I go back in. Well, not really. A security guy with a big AK-47 says: "You don't go in. Exit only". and looks away. I explain him that my luggage is still inside."You don't go in". Sorry, my luggage is inside. "You don't go in". Yes I know I am sorry, my bad, but my luggage is there, I need to go back in. "You don't go in". OK, where do i get back in then?. "You don't go in here", and then turns his face, refusing to look at me again.

After fifteen times yes / no I change tactics. I tell him that I am going in, and start walking. He changes tactics as well (his are somewhat better) and raises his gun. Thirty minutes in India, and already threatened. I thought I had left this style of life some years ago already..... India is a friendly nation, so I decide to slowly continue walking. On my other side I hear a "whats going on?" and the typical Sergeant Major of the old series "It ain't half hot mum" magically appears to my left. Ah, the boss!!! I humbly explain that I was not thinking, I didnt realize, I am sorry, but my luggage is on the other side of the glass, and with a nod I am granted permission. Mr "You don't go in" is still not looking at me.

Not bad for being in the country for thirty minutes.....

Almost upon return, our travel agent arrives, we load all in the car (I look friendly to Mr. "You don't go in" upon leaving, but he does not look at me).

The drive to the hotel is an adventure. Take Spanish and Italian driving, mix this, multiply the number of cars by fifty, take away any white line, dashed or straight from the road, ignore red lights, honk every three seconds and all this while driving more or less on the left side of the road, and you get the impression.

Lot of smog, slums alongside the road and we arrive at the hotel after twenty minutes of Nicky Lauda driving. Nice hotel, superfast service, friendly people.

Two single beds. Both of us are happy. Immediately having to spoon in one single bed is not needed yet....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb