Rest day....Ha!


Advertisement
Asia
October 24th 2012
Published: October 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Pheriche rest day,
As before our rest day isn't really for rest but for acclimating. I actually slept very well, after going to sleep at 8:00. We didn't have to be at breakfast until 8:00amso I really made up for lost sleep. Our hike today was only for acclimatization so we headed straight up the hill in front of the house for 1500+ feet. The views were awesome. We could we several of the 8000 meter peaks, Cho Oyu, Makalu, Lotshe and many others over 7,000m. Super cool! After coming back down we enjoyed a light lunch. I'm hoping to head to,the Internet cafe later to post this. Hopefully the speed will allow me to post pics.

No luck on the pics. I have a been able to post a few on Facebook. Also, our guide Sarah has been very good at updating the cybercasts on the Alpine Ascents web-site. Check it out, she has pictures also.

We are staring to see people we have met coming back down due to altitude sickness so I have started taking my Diamox. I'm feeling strong, but would hate to get it if it might be proventable.

I am also ready to get to Base camp and Kala Patar and head home. I'm trying to figure out what I want to eat in the Atlanta airport....isn't that terrible? But true!

Advertisement



24th October 2012

Mom
Great update, Thanks for the blog. Love you.
26th October 2012

wow
Hi Crystal- I love ready your entries. It sounds so beautiful, exciting and different. I'm glad you get to have this experience.....priceless!!! :) Hang in there! Love, Jane

Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb