Home--but still no address


Advertisement
Asia
May 20th 2012
Published: May 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's a short flight from Bangkok to Phnom Penh, about the same as going from Houston to Dallas. The differences are pretty huge. When you go to Dallas from Houston it would take you a while to recognize that you have left the city limits. Not so in Phnom Penh. The world moves slower, the people have lost some of their cheerful innocense that I equate with Thailand and the skyline is much lower profile. The city is about 1/8 the size of Bangkok and may be more like Bangkok was 30 years ago. Shortly after arriving a huge storm blew in that will be typical of the weather until November. I already have a huge welt on my arm that I think a mosquito put there. The city is much more open air than Bangkok. I've traded the Hilton for a guesthouse with no internet except in the lobby. That should make my conference call interesting tomorrow. I have my first meeting in the morning with the Chief Academic Officer. We'll be talking about the program and what needs to happen. I met me partner in this effort, Susan, and feel excited to work with her. She's also an expat that has been here about seven years. She had on dark sunglasses and apologized because she had just been mugged two nights ago when leaving a restaurant. She said it was a lot of effort for $3. Apparently, street violence goes up during elections which take place June 3. I'm thinking, let's get that one behind us! I'll be extra careful until then. Phnom Penh isn't known to be a really violent city although the country's history isn't foreign to the concept. Susan showed me her appartment which looked really nice. I can't wait to find something and settle in. I have three weeks to get grounded before heading to Barcelona for a week. It aleady feels like I've been gone months. I'm sure I'll have more to say in the coming week but for now, I'm here, safe, excited about starting work and finding a place to live.

Advertisement



22nd May 2012

Happy Birthday!
Tim following your adventures--glad to see the postings. Need more pics! So, tomorrow is your Birthday, so I wanted to give you a big birthday hug! Hope you will be able to celebrate in some way at your new location. Be safe. Think of you often! Celene

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb