ICT and Tourism = Friends With Benefits.


Advertisement
Asia
March 20th 2012
Published: March 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

NURUL DIANNA BINTI MOHD YUSOFF

UOS: 099080518



Nowadays you will see the letters ICT everywhere. ICT stand for Information Communication Technology or we can just simply say uses of digital technology. Concept and application of ICT are constantly evolving on an almost daily basis and it happen so fast even sometimes it's difficult to us to keep up with the change, but as we can see, technology is our best friend. It is not a bizzare situation when we saw a toddler with iPad playing 'angry bird' or talking to 'Tom, the cat'. Everyone seem to be a gadget freak. Thousand of people will line up at every Apple store when they announcing the new iPhone or iPad. Why? why they were going to freak out to change their old iPhone or Ipad to the new one? Simple, latest application.

Why I said technology is our best friend? The answer is simple, It give us almost everything we want. From booking a hotel room until buy something old as our grandpa's age, we can get it easier.

As a student of tourism field, I must be alert with everything changing in tourism world. As I can see, ICT becoming an important method to promote business in tourism sector. For my e-tourism assignment, I've chosen London as my case study. ICT already becoming a 'travel mall' for tourists, so visitlondon is influenced by the business environment created by the diffusion of ICT. Visitlondon offer almost everything to the tourist in order to make their travel become more fun and relax. We can find accomodation, tips, food and beverage, where to go, maps, etc inside visitlondon. it even came with 9 different languages.

Here the link for visitlondon http://www.visitlondon.com/



Trip Experience..... Siem Reap, Cambodia.

Last year, My friends and I were joining a college trip to Siem Reap, Cambodia. Kinda cool experience for all of us. This is the first time I've being introduce by a unique culture, but at the same time, a little bit boring for me because Siem Reap is not a big city with everything... hahahaha. But overall I enjoyed myself during the trip. I just found out there is so much temples lays down on Siem Reap, unique and creepy at the same time. I just can't say much about the people and weather because it almost the same with my place, Kuala Lumpur.

If you wanna doing some shopping at night market, make sure you bargain as low as you can. you will surprise with the price later on. Don't worry about the language, mostly of the people in Siem Reap can speak broken english. Siem Reap were using USD and KHR riel as their currency. If you love night life, you will have so much fun at bar street. As for the food, it's kinda little bit hard and pricey for muslim like me hey, this is what we call experience. But let's keep your craving to Mcdonald's when you visit Siem Reap because they don't have one. Too bad huh??..

Overall I have fun during the trip and I can say I learned something.. 😊

Here some photos we capture during the trip..


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb