Day 15 in HoiAn - City walking tour and Temples at My Son


Advertisement
Asia
March 9th 2012
Published: March 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

City walking tour City walking tour City walking tour

Open air market
Our day in HoiAn included a walking tour of the city followed by a drive to My Son to walk trhough the ruins of the Champa temples. With the temperature and humidity constantly rising through the day, we were glad that we wrapped up early...

The city tour was interesting and diverse, starting with a temple/museum dedicated to Confucius where our guide walked us through some of the basic tenets of traditional Vietnamese living. As part of this tour, we also visited an old Japanese bridge, an open to air vegetable and fish market and ended at a silk and wood handicrafts workshop.

The drive to My Son offered some great views of the countryside. The ruins (located within a forest) were amazing, and got us excited about the trip to Angkor Wat in the near future. One of the things that struck us the most was the advanced architectural techniques that were used by the Champa workmen in as early as the 8th century AD, which can still not be replicated by the conservationists despite multiple efforts!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

City walking tourCity walking tour
City walking tour

A large section of the market was reserved for fresh fish
City walking tourCity walking tour
City walking tour

The lantern market street
My Son temple complexMy Son temple complex
My Son temple complex

One of the temples that is still standing, mainly dedicated to the Hindu God Shiva
My Son temple complexMy Son temple complex
My Son temple complex

Smaller temples around the courtyard dedicated to other Gods
My Son temple complexMy Son temple complex
My Son temple complex

Some of the carvings are still intact
My Son temple complexMy Son temple complex
My Son temple complex

Looking outside from within the smaller temples
My Son temple complexMy Son temple complex
My Son temple complex

The temple complex is in a valley, surrounded by forests


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb