Not much to say


Advertisement
Asia
April 26th 2011
Published: April 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Happy belated Easter all! I hope you've all stuffed yourselves rotten with chocolate and goodies and had a great bank holiday.

It's Tuesday afternoon, here in Huzhou. Easter has been and gone; lacking my usual million and one creme eggs and a decadant roast dinner. All in all I'm feeling considerably more healthy than I would be on Tuesday afternoon post easter back home!

The weather is a scorching 30something, and the atmosphere in the office is rather laid back, the post lunch siesta is over and people are steadily marking papers and preparing exam sheets for tomorrow's mid terms. Tomorrow's mid-terms also mean a few days of no teaching for me! Unfortunately I'll have to be in school, so it doesn't mean a nice mid week lie in!

Everybody in the office asks if I'm hot, I say this is probably the hottest it gets back home the reply 'it's going to be like this for four months!', I collapse into my chair 'I'm going to melt!' and everybody is laughing and smiling! I'm secretly cursing the british islands for not preparing my poor celtic body for the summer we're about to have! Despite this cursing and my lack of endurance for sun or heat, it's a beautiful day and this evening I'm going to make the most of it. I'm going to leave a little early, take my book and journal out into the city and just enjoy the sunshine. It's also time to buy some summer clothes!

No photos this week, as the ipods out of action for the time being, will be going to Shanghai in a fortnight so will hopefully get it fixed then!
On Friday I'm off to Shaoxing with grade 7 on a school trip, once their midterms are over they have one every week. Fingers crossed I find a camera for Shaoxing. So why you're all indoctrinated with royal wedding news, i'll be thinking of you blissfully ignorant of it all.


I've also managed to gain a social life here in China, thank heavens, a year without a beer wasn't what I'd signed up for. I've met two American lads, who are a good laugh and easy company. Since I've met them I've discovered a foreign dvd store, a cinema (with an English film), a few bars, an arcade, a pool hall and some decent places to eat!

Well I don't have much to say today, just wanted to check in as I haven't written much about the past few weeks, not since Shanghai anyway!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb