South East Asia: Thailand, Laos, and Cambodia


Advertisement
Asia
May 18th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

South East Asia Route

This program won't allow me to curve my route path so I've included some stop over cities to better represent my route. Also, assume the most logical path. For example, when going from Northern Laos to Southern Laos, I did not re-enter Thailand. I also flew over the Pacific, not the rest of the world, to reach Bangkok.

Kao San Road, BangkokKao San Road, BangkokKao San Road, Bangkok

Every backpackers jumping off point
Hello Everyone,

In this entry I'm posting pictures from my first 7 weeks in South East Asia, but since it has taken me so long, I'll add a quick update. I am currently in Hiroshima, Japan where I have been staying with my most gracious host, Jeff. I’m off to Tokyo in a few days and after that I will spend my remaining time in Japan exploring the Kansai region: Kyoto and Nara.

I found South East Asia to be the most welcoming place I have ever been with Laos claiming the title for the friendliest people in the world . . . I have never been to such a laid back place. The North of Laos, Luang Prabang and Vientiane, is surrounded by beautiful mountains, the snaking Mekong River, and reminders of their communist government. As I moved south into the 4000 Islands area I was really struck at how welcoming and relaxed the locals were. I explored Thailand's cultural north through my hillside trek and as I moved south I realized that Thailand's beaches cant be beat; I was fortunate enough to find refuge from the crowds on a deserted archipelago 15 miles above the Malaysian border. Cambodia's contrasts struck me hard as I enjoyed the great and awe inspiring ruins of Angkor only days before becoming immersed in the history of the genocidal Khmer Rouge. I was truly surprised at the openness and friendliness of the Khmer (ethnic Cambodian) people as only 20 years ago they were coming out of one of the greatest atrocities of recent history.
In case your confused, I started in Bangkok, went north to Chiang Mai, east to Laos, down to the southern tip of Laos, back to Bangkok (where i met Taylor), down to Thailand's southern islands, then back through Bangkok and over to Cambodia.

The best way I can sum up my time in South East Asia is to simply say that I had an absolute blast. I enjoy traveling alone more than I could have ever imagined. Yet, I was never really alone . . . I made a ton of friends from all over the world and have set up some beds for when i get to Europe. I was constantly traveling with really cool people. It felt like a big playground . . . I met up with people in Cambodia that I had traveled with 6 weeks earlier in Laos.

Well, hope you enjoy the selection of pictures. Love you all and for all of you that have kept in touch thru emails, thank you.



Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Chiang MaiChiang Mai
Chiang Mai

Temple in the forest
Hill Tribe TrekHill Tribe Trek
Hill Tribe Trek

Guitars and Camp Fires: long day of hiking
Hill Tribe TrekHill Tribe Trek
Hill Tribe Trek

Elephant Riding in the Thai Jungle
Hill Tribe TrekHill Tribe Trek
Hill Tribe Trek

Our guide Map, cooking up some jungle stew
Hill Tribe TrekHill Tribe Trek
Hill Tribe Trek

Dancing with the locals
Entering Laos as a millionaireEntering Laos as a millionaire
Entering Laos as a millionaire

$1=10,000 Kip. I was worth a lot of kip. I also used the countries sole ATM.
The MekongThe Mekong
The Mekong

Two day boat ride from Northern Thailand to Laos
Luang PrabangLuang Prabang
Luang Prabang

Beautiful City, a UNESCO World Heritage Site
Luang PrabangLuang Prabang
Luang Prabang

Typical Temple
Most Beautiful Waterfalls, Disney StyleMost Beautiful Waterfalls, Disney Style
Most Beautiful Waterfalls, Disney Style

Some good friends. Check out the Irish on the left. yes.
Vang ViengVang Vieng
Vang Vieng

Rural Beauty
Vang ViengVang Vieng
Vang Vieng

Need I say more.
Vientiane Vientiane
Vientiane

Can you believe this is the downtown of Laos' capital city?
Vientiane, Laos PDR Vientiane, Laos PDR
Vientiane, Laos PDR

Laos Peoples Democratic Republic. Sure it is.
Laos PDRLaos PDR
Laos PDR

Like I said, ya right. (Dylan, met back up with the English in Cambodia).
Vientiane SunsetVientiane Sunset
Vientiane Sunset

View of the Mekong River from Vientiane, the coolest captial city ive ever been to.
4000 Islands 4000 Islands
4000 Islands

Kids at play


Tot: 0.389s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb