Update from Bali


Advertisement
Asia
January 30th 2011
Published: January 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone from the beautiful island of Bali. Bali is VERY different from Mexico. The people are very friendly, relaxed and eager to please without intrusive or aggressive - like they can be in Mexico or other places. The hotel is fine. I had steamed mahi mahi for dinner this evening; beautifully presented and VERY good.
We had a very interesting time in Tai Pei. We took the half day (free) - yes free tour, paid for by the government... that's kind of hard to believe. We went to a market that reminded me very much of the one I was in when I was in Bangkok. The food was delightful - dumplings... hmmmmm good. Pork Bough ... fresh as can be. Other than the market the rest of the tour was kind of a bust but the guide was good enough to lead about 6 of us to the train station and we took the train into Tai Pei City. Tai Pei while the city itself is very clean, the buildings are quite bleak and even the 101 while obviously being very high is quite plain and not like the tower I have seen in Chicago. The Taiwanese people are also very friendly and helpful - thank God. Being in a city where you cannot speak the language could otherwise be a little daunting. I was glad that we were adventurous enough to go exploring on our own because it was a very worthwhile experience and far better than sitting in the airport for 14 hours that's for sure.
Had a 90 minutes Balinese massage this afternoon - heavenly....
Hopefully I can get access to my usask email tomorrow... until then
take care and hope you are all well back home.
Love to you all.

Advertisement



30th January 2011

Glad you arrrived safely!
Fay-eh, Sooo glad to hear from you and access your blog! Things sound like they are going well and that's great! Can't wait to get there! How was the trip from Denpasar to Oasis?
9th February 2011

Lover of Bali
Hi Girlfriend - your trip sounds AMAZING! The overall exoticness (is that a word?) of that part of the world is really coming out in your blogs! Make sure you take lots of pictures and hope you're able to utilize that box of goodies I passed onto you before you left! Love you and miss! p.s. - I'll have to turn up the volume of my i-pod ocean sounds as I run around the Field House track and I'll try my very best to envision a 1-1/2 hr. power walk along the beach!! xxoo k.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb