One Week Plus in Bangkok!


Advertisement
Asia
December 19th 2010
Published: December 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I haven't made any headway yet in clearing out of the lively metropolis of Bangkok. This is due to a series of issues associated with one mistake at the airport upon my arrival. My intention was to withdraw some Thai Baht at the airport ATM after a very long travel day from Bali, Indonesia, and a 5 hour layover in Surabaya. I was a bit dopey so wasn't concentrating, and as I discovered, Asian bank machines dispense cash before returning your bank card. This caught me unawares, so after retrieving my cash, I simply walked away from the ATM. Not noticed until the next morning, I phoned the airport lost and found, but not a chance. So, ever since that time, I've been trying to repair that mistake. The Commonwealth Bank of Australia cannot get a card into my hands in less than three weeks and I cannot give them an address at that time. Also, I cannot get an emergency cash advance until I get my passport back from the Burma Embassy. So I've been spending my time wandering the streets of Bangkok, taking in the many diversions and sights that this amazing city has to offer. At Siam Paragon, there are some very beautiful Christmas decorations, trees, colourful bright lights, festive entertainment, and a really exciting holiday vibe in the air. I've been shopping too much, revamping my wardrobe, replacing some of my rattier backpacker clothes so I can look a little more presentable when walking about in this fashionable metro. The food has been very tasty, and I'm usually right in there with the locals, chowing down at a streetside food stall, having a meal for under $2, prepared right there in the street. I'm particularily enjoying the Phad Thais, green and yellow curries. My nights are spent at one local bar/nightclub or another, chatting up anyone who will listen to me carry on! Last night, I went out to the Khao San Road area, the famous backpacker ghetto, to see some live Thai music and the local party scene with a few of my hostel roommates. I am staying at the lovely YHA Sukhomvit Hostel in a very nice area of the city. It has a rooftop terrace, many relaxing common areas to lounge in, free internet access, and includes a continental style breakfast. Anyhow, last night we all went out to the OH Club and had a great time moshing on the crowded floor in front of the band. The common practise is for the table to buy a bottle of Johnnie Walker whiskey with a bucket of ice and soda water mix, which is shared amongst everyone during the night amidst all the scrumming and dancing. After we closed the club, we stopped off at a curbside bar for a few more drinks until past 0500 this very morning! I would have enjoyed sleeping in except they turn the air conditioning off at 1100 every day to conserve energy!

I'll let you know how things are going after my next report from Burma. I am not sure of the internet access from that country, but I'll keep you posted.
Cheers!

Advertisement



21st December 2010

Challenges
Hi Rene, Love reading your blogs. Your mom and I wait anxiously for news from our sons. Todd is still in Nicargua and I have not heard from him for a week. Wish he had a blog. Thank you for sharing your challenges. It helps others to be wiser. You are a teacher. I wish you a wonderful and joyous Christmas (do the even celebrate where you are?) How's the food. Blessings, and Hugs Pat
26th January 2011

Travels Continue
Hi Pat. Still travelling and trying to stay healthy. Chinese New Years coming up, so that will be a big event in Asia. I'm glad you enjoy my blog. I hope things are going well for Todd in Central America.

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb