Biking Almanac


Advertisement
Asia
November 21st 2010
Published: November 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Biker's Day out to Anchetty




Prologue:
The night was not cold, but a thorough breeze went through the veins making mortal humans to look for food and fire. So was I awake past midnight wanting to decode the residual blurred memories from a vague dream that I had on the previous night. The fire was out so was the effort to find out more about the dream and its outcome.

It was winter in Bengaluru, the Silicon Valley of India. Being in the Southern Hemisphere, not much of snow down here(or nothing at all) but hellava fog which covers your face like foam before a close shave.
The clock kept calling me with its minute sound during the silent hours of Sunday. It was 1a.m and I could sense the presence of country folks out on the streets. Quiet a busy city, I must say.

The alarm was set on the clock, and the bed was ready in order to join the voyage in dreams. I am a serious dreamer, have had all sorts of it.
The night was pleasant with darkness around me, giving a chance for me to explore more. Soon, I forgot all the responsibilities and duties on earth and closed my eyes.

Rise and Shine:
I was awakened by the cold breeze through my ears, soon travelled through my nostrils only to remind me of winter's attitude. Soon, I packed up my backpack and was ready in a minute to hit the roads. As winter prevailed in the early days of November, a jacket and gloves were absolute necessities to travel in early mornings. But it was manageable since I was a Bengalurean(a resident of the city).


Get set go!
Reached the parking lot, where my machine was stationed. Wiped the excess mist off the metallic body, cleared the RV mirrors, and was set to go.

Anchetty, a small town off the boundary of Karnataka. The route to the town is filled with ghats on either sides of the highway, leaving the riders mesmerized with its abundant beauty and terrorizing danger. Being a prominent , one would see a dozen of warning signs on the sides, on the huge trees and rocks sedimented on the pavements of these notorious highways.

Nothing stops a biker from going forward. The distance between the start point and the end point was supposed to be around 90Km. A solid 2 hours journey, one would assume to be, but thanks to the conditions of the road and time of the ride, you are bound to enjoy the serenity of nature.

The Cruise:
Soon, I crossed the boundary of the state, and entered the neighboring state called TN. Nothing much of a difference one witnesses here other than the cool breeze in the early morning, which the residents of my hometown purely miss due to the ever increasing smog in the city.



Anchetty : 60Km
The roads were not bad, with no signs of any vehicle on the opposite side. That made the ride even more better thanks to 'no-traffic' and 'no-pedestrians' zone. If you had heard about eternal bliss, what bliss with a concoction of eternity and ever lasting fun, that my friend is what you get.
Be hold, the hairpin bends, and what do you get at the end?


The Return:
After reaching the destination, one would feel there aint any true destination for a biker. Life must go on so does your machine.
Everything I could think of were "no-traffic',"no-smoke',"no-noise" and "no-pollution".

If you ever thought of enjoying a lazy Sunday morning, start your engines and be the guest of nature to explore this place.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb