Vientiane, Laos


Advertisement
Asia
November 8th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

V1V1V1

Pha That Luang, this monument appears on the national Lao seal.
Hi all. Moved on from the lovely Luang Prabang to the capital city of Vientiane. Not as calm as Luang Prabang, more city-like and spread out but still worth a visit. I had to make my way here to acquire my Myanmar visa which, after they did a background check on me and my father, is being processed and will be available for pick up on Wednesday. I think after I pick it up, I will move onto to Thailand for a few days before arranging a flight to Yangon, Myanmar.

So what have I done and seen here? After arriving on the overnight bus from Luang Prabang to Vientiane at 5:00 am, I was privilaged to see morning alms again, just as moving as in Luang Prabang. One woman had her house 'blessed' by one group; after they got her offering, they stood outside her home and chanted a prayer, very cool. I then had a stressful task of finding a guesthouse, went to 10 before I found one that had a room, overpriced, which explains why they had a room. Wouldn't have mattered if I'd made a booking, it seems if you're not in the room before midnight,
V2V2V2

A view inside the walls of Pha That Luang.
your reservation is cancelled. No matter, I found something at 6:00 am and grabbed a couple hours sleep before seeing what Vientiane really had to offer.

Laos at one time was under the ruling of France which might explain the reason for their version of a arc de triumphe. Located inside a traffic circle is Putuxai monument. Meant to commemorate Lao people who died in prerevolutionary wars, it was built in 1969 with cement donated by the USA for construction of a new airport. People around here call it the vertical runway. It's pretty and the sculpture work is quite awesome, if you can get past the Christmas lights dangling from it.

I also went to Buddha Park, that was one odd and interesting place. A bit of background... Built only a short time ago, 1958, by a yogi/priest/shaman who wanted to merged Hindu and Buddhist philosophy, mythology and iconography into one. There was so much going on, it was difficult to know where to look. Every statue had something that grabbed your attention, made you laugh or just wondered, 'what on earth...?!' Have a look for yourself, I'm posting some the photos I took. Take care, be
V3V3V3

Patuxai from a distance.
well and remember those who died for us and those who were close and have passed on.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

V4V4
V4

Inside the arch of Patuxai
V5V5
V5

A closer view of hte arch outside Patuxai
V6V6
V6

The stretch of land at the far side is Thailand. Vientiane is only 22 kms from the bridge I'll cross into Thailand.
V7V7
V7

Buddha Park
V8V8
V8

more Buddha Park.
V9V9
V9

This is one of the largest sculptures in the park.
V10V10
V10

As I said, some statues just had so much going on...
V11V11
V11

Yes, even the monks needed to take pictures of some of the statues.
V12V12
V12

Buddha Park
V13V13
V13

Buddha Park
V14V14
V14

Buddha Park
V15V15
V15

Striking the spiritual pose....


8th November 2010

Hey Cheryl...it was very nice to get another post. As usual the history/geography/tourism lessons are fabulous. It's great to see you in some of the pic's. I can't wait til you return and we get some of these stories in person. Keep safe.
8th November 2010

Laos
Hi Cheryl, Judging by the number of Buddha's you've seen recently, you must be nearing enlightenment by now - let me know what it's like! By the way, winter is just setting in here so enjoy, keep the pics coming and stay safe, Brian
8th November 2010

laos
Great pictures on the Buda Park
11th November 2010

Hello
Heh Cheryl sorry it's taken me so long to send a message. It has been great travelling with you through China and Laos with your pictures and comments. It looks absolutely amazing and you have done a great job in telling all of us about it through your pictures and comments. You look great too. I think I could do that trip for sure. I was talking to a woman in Tai Chi last night (of course she is Chinese) and she just got back from China and travelled to some of the places that you did as well and she said it was amazing for her because even though she was born in China as a child they did not travel. She was amazed at what she saw in China as I am from what you've shown us through your blog. You travel safe and look forward to hearing more from you.

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 39; dbt: 0.1198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb