Resume


Advertisement
Asia
August 3rd 2010
Published: August 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

People keep asking me how was my Asia trip, what I've learnt and so forth. Well it actually took me 1 week to think about it...too many impressions, people, cultures, religions and exotic smells in my head. For sure it was very different from everything I've experienced so far. As I have many Asian friends in Melbourne, I thought I quite know what I can expect. But it turned out to quite differently. People living abroad are not a good indicator of how life actually is in their respective countries as they lead fairly Western-style lives.
However, I'm glad that it turned out to be different. People living on the countryside still lead quite traditional lives and allow to gather new impressions and experiences about how life used to be there. Although many people are very poor, they seem proud and satisfied with their lives.
Whereas, people living in the big cities enjoy similar lifestyles like in Western countries but also face the same consequences of economic wealth like materialism, living a life on the fast lane, searching for the sense of their lives and being more individualistic and selfish. Actually when talking to Asian people many of them disagree with the Western lifestyle. But observing the lives of them I am not quite sure whether they have realized how Western their lives have already become.
Despite of the many friendly people I met being curious, interested and happy to meet me, I also experienced rejection, opportunism and people obviously showing they are not happy about Western people or tourists in general disturbing their everyday's lives for several reasons including poverty, locals trying to ripp off tourists, 'Westerners' not respecting cultural values/religion or simply the fact that local people don't understand why Western people can actually spend weeks for traveling whereas locals have to work hard to feed their families and often earn as little as USD50 per month. While thinking about it, it is a bit pervert though. However, especially backpackers, mainly eating and sleeping at local businesses help to improve lives of many people.
After 6 weeks, 10 flights and endless nights at different hostels, guest houses and hotels, I further realised that this time period is far not enough for so many countries - focusing on 1 or 2 countries would have been definitely better, cheaper and less stressful. However, all the countries I have been to have their very own charme...Taiwan with its nature, Malaysia with its delicious food, Vietnam with its super friendly people, Singapore with its multicultural society and Thailand with its great temples. For sure all these countries are worth a visit. I would be more than happy to come back to all of them. But if I would have to chose one then it would be probably Vietnam. It is quite inexpensive, easy to travel around with buses, the food is delicious, people are warm-hearted and open-minded and the natural beauty is amazing as well.
Two things I definitely learnt while doing that journey...material things are just important up to a certain point. What really is important is time. Time spent with family, friends, partners is invaluable and missed time can't be brought back. Second thing...although traveling alone was a great experience and helps to learn about oneself, traveling is all about people. If one doesn't meet the right people and have no one to share, the most beautiful places can't be enjoyed to be fullest. It is allways the people that make a place special, not the other way around.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb