Terracotta Turnover


Advertisement
Asia
July 27th 2010
Published: July 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

On my way to Xian, I took a much needed layover in Taiyuan. I was able to clean up after my stint in the mountains and take care of a few errands. There, I visited the Shanxi Museum, which had one of the best collections I've seen. Artifacts over 4000 years old from China's first traces of civilization were impressive. Also on display were exquisite examples of ancient Chinese porcelain, currency, architecture, and Buddhist relics.

I arrived in Xian via overnight sleeper train, which was not that bad. My first day in Xian, once the capital of China, I made my way around the well-preserved city wall on bike. I also made my way to the Great Mosque near the center of the city. Xian's position along the Silk Road made it a fertile place for religious diffusion from the Mediterranean. Outside the Great Mosque was one of the best flea markets I've seen. One particular strength was the abundance of knock-offs: Ray-Bans, Lacoste, Bretling watches, whatever!

The following day, I visited one of the most anticipated sights of the entire trip, the Terracotta Warriors! Over 2200 years ago, the first emperor of the Qin dynasty (the same one
Pit 3Pit 3Pit 3

Some warriors were not as well preserved.
from the movie Hero) created a vast army of thousands of life-size porcelain soldiers, horses, and chariots, complete with weapons and gear. These were to accompany him in his tomb to the afterlife. Out of all the things that I've seen ever, this was for sure top three in terms of most amazing due to its sheer size, old age, and the interesting history surrounding emperor Qin. It was definitely worth the venture out to Xian and I'm glad I got it done.

I'm enjoying my last night of solo travel and savoring the solitude, for tomorrow I head to Shanghai where I will meet up with a friend from Houston. In Taiwan, I will also be with friends and family so for the rest of my travels, I shall be in good company.






Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Elaborate TombElaborate Tomb
Elaborate Tomb

As you can see from this picture, the tomb had a tiled floor. It also had reinforced walls and a wooden roof. In other parts that remain to be excavated are supposed to be recreations of Qin's palace and kingdom, complete with booby traps and a river of mercury!
Terracotta JasonTerracotta Jason
Terracotta Jason

Definitely worth the 5 yuan I had to pay to take this...lol
Biking on the City WallBiking on the City Wall
Biking on the City Wall

It was really hot, but biking and jammin out with some tunes was fun and relaxing.
Chinese ArchitectureChinese Architecture
Chinese Architecture

The Shanxi Museum had some nice models of famous Chinese architecture.
Pottery PiecesPottery Pieces
Pottery Pieces

Extremely detailed and well-wrought pieces of pottery were also on display.


27th July 2010

nice pics... man, like to go to China now... so, meeting up w/ a special friend huh... "nice!!!". ha how long will u be there for?
28th July 2010

Haha lol Tony
I'll be there for 2.5 days

Tot: 0.397s; Tpl: 0.042s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb