Arrival in Lhasa Tibet


Advertisement
Asia
July 20th 2010
Published: July 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have been journeying with my mum since the 3rd of July; I figure if I can travel and work through challenges with my mum in other countries with tons of language barriers than I can work through just about anything with just about anyone--haha! My mum is actually pretty goofy and I have a much better understanding of her character, so I am very grateful!
Since July of 2008 my whole life changed and for the past two years I have been working steadfastly and dilligently to pay off all of my debt. This was finally accomplished on the 2nd of July--pheww--such a close call since I already had a plane ticket for the 3rd! I have given up everything I have known and now am on this journey to actualize my true purpose and uncover all of those hidden gems I have deep within me--I have no idea where I will end up nor what I am supposed to do but I am certain I will learn much along the way and face many challenges. If you ever have read "The Alchemist"...I feel a bit like the main character, a shepherd, who sells all of his sheep and sets off to follow a dream.
I am now in Lhasa, Tibet after a 3 day jouney by train from Chengdu through beautiful mountains. Many people were sick from the change in elevation including moi but a little rest and plenty of water changes that ;o) The scenery is breathtaking and the sun does not set until nearly 9pm! We are staying at the cutest guest house called Sonam in dorms where the meals are fantastic, the showers have hot water and there is a beautiful courtyard in which to enjoy tibetan butter tea or contemplate the freshness of the air quality...so amazing! This is only the first night and we have only been here a few hours but already my heart feels happy and my lungs exhilirated and refreshed! More later.. ;o)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb