Formulate a Plan


Advertisement
Asia
May 25th 2010
Published: June 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

When I watch the Asian news at home or read articles about China, I kept hearing terms about urban and rural populations.

While I always understand the gist of it, I never realized how much more complicated the hukuo system really was.

Today's topic was on Rural to Urban Migration and Migrant Laborers. I loved the professor who talked about the social safety net program.

What really stuck out at me was how similar the challenges of this developing nation are to ours. Their healthcare reform ideas, their social safety net programs, their struggle to fund these operations through tax dollars.

Except how in the world do you tax a Chinese citizen? It's a mostly cash society from what I understand. How do you keep the system honest? Especially when most people are only partially employed. Or the rural farmers are producing food for themselves....

Just saying....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb