Sometimes you just got to follow the crowd.


Advertisement
Asia
May 31st 2010
Published: May 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

As most of you following this blog know, I am not what is sometimes called a "Sheeple". That is I do not follow the usual trends nor do I watch the latest show on tv just because it is popular. Well that extends to my holidays as well. I refuse to use the Lonely Planet guides and almost always venture out on my own and find some hidden treasure that is not in any books.

Well today I broke with the norm and had a great experiance.

I woke up early and decided to go for a walk. It was about 7:30 so I didn't think I needed my camera, I was just gonna find a little hole in the wall cafe and have breakfast.

It turns out thier was loads of people (locals) on the street and they were almost all going in one direction. Now usually I don't follow crowds becaause sometimes they lead to a demonstration of some sort and sometimes riot police get involved. It can turn ugly, but today I thought it looked really peacefull so I FOLLOWED THE CROWD.

I ended up in a large square a few blocks from the mai road my hotel is on and on one end of the square is a monestary that must have had over 1,000 people in front of it doing thier morning prostrations to Budda. There was also another 1,000 - 1,500 people walking around the monestary in a clockwise fashion. Some were chanting, some were holding prayer wheels. There were young and old, healthy and infirm. There was a large chimney that people could place offerings into and these would be burnt.

It was a really surreal moment. I asked out guide later today about this ceramony and he says that these people will do this every morning and every evening each day of the week.

After watching for about 45 minutes I followed the crowd around the back of the monestary and discovered a whole area of winding streets and shops selling anything you could think of. It turned into a pretty cool adventure and I leanred a lesson.

SOMETIMES YOU JUST GOT TO FOLLOW THE CROWD.

Sorry no pictures as I did not bring my camera.

Mike.

P.S. I was stared at just as much as I was starring. I was wearing shorts and sandles and the locals think it is funny that I am not freezing. I am used to the stares now.

See ya later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb