Shigatse back to Lhasa - Tibet Day 4


Advertisement
Asia
May 19th 2010
Published: May 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So today was rather uneventful. Morning checkout from Yak Hotel in Shigatse, tour of the monastery in town, then hit the road for the long drive back to Lhasa.

My siji (driver) realized I smoked and was offering me cigarettes the whole ride back. This is part of Chinese culture, and rude to refuse. I didn't know how to say I smoke very little to begin with, and at the high altitudes, cigarettes make my head spin. I got away with only accepting 3 or so, but am always worried to have offended someone by my actions; as they mean so much more than words in most of Asia.

The monastery was pretty cool, although very crowded as there is a festival going on at present. It's nice because I find myself one of very few Westerners (or foreigners at all) leading to a more authentic feel. On the other hand, it can contribute to a sense of confusion and being lost in some moments and circumstances.

Got a little nap on the drive back, beside almost being launched from my seat multiple times by rapid breaking for sheep crossings... lol.

Have two days left in Tibet, and it's seeming Everest Base Camp is not an option, as I am alone and it would cost a ridiculous amount of money. I wish I had just joined a tour group. It was 2,000RMB more up front, but since they include accommodation, some meals, entrance fees, etc... it would have probably been cheaper in the long run and certainly a little less lonely.

Guess that's it for now. There's an Israeli girl and her mom here I just met, and we might be going to dinner together. Certainly welcoming the company at this point...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb