How to stay warm in a Chinese apartment


Advertisement
Asia
April 24th 2010
Published: April 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This how to guide is dedicated to those living in Changchun (or anywhere in the Dong Bei area) with ice on the inside of their windows and temperatures that result in a walk-in refrigerator that you sleep in. This winter is finally over, but to those who are destined to live through another I give you the following as my advice:

Step 1: Buy a heater. This first step is absolutely essential. Without one you will live at the whim of your local government. At times they might decide that the heat on your block should not be on or should only be set to 50 degrees (something similar happens with the water too, but I’ll leave that for another entry…).

Step 2: Buy a heating pad. If you want to sleep at night, you will need one of these. It is advised that you do not buy the cheapest one (as with anything in China), because it will probably break in a week or two.

Step 3: Wear long johns and lots of clothes. If you don’t buy long underwear the Chinese will laugh at you, you stupid foreigner you. Seriously.

Step 4: Alcohol helps. Vodka is expensive, but you could always turn to Bai jiu as a cheaper and (quite frankly) disgusting alternative.

Step 5: If all else fails, stay in bed under the covers, and try to not move as much as possible. Basically—hibernate until the ice melts off your windows.

Maybe I’m bitter, but this winter has kicked my butt, and I am so happy that it’s over. You might be thinking that winter has been over for a while. HA! We just got rid of the snow last week, and thank god for that.


Advertisement



24th April 2010

Poor Sweetheart! When are you coming home? We miss you!
25th April 2010

Nice Place to Visit...Wouldn't Want to Live There
Hi Honey, That was really a laugh! My question is how do the Chinese know what underwear you wear? Hmmm. In spite of one of the coldest winters that area has had, I would love to see those beautiful ice buildings and sculptures at the Ice Festival they have every year. It sounds fabulous. I think your Dad and I could handle it for a week. Like I said, it sounds like a nice place to visit...wouldn't want to live there. Michigan will seem like a tropical place when you come home. I love you and can wait til you and Mike come back.
8th May 2010

We'll be back in August! :) I miss you all too. Now that you live closer to the Mad Heights, we will have to hang when I move back.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb