Chitwan and Kathmandu


Advertisement
Asia
March 18th 2010
Published: March 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am enjoying Nepal.
I had a great birthday starting with sunrise view of the Annapurnas and hike down the mountain to Pokhora. (It was more challenging than I thought). Then breakfast at the hotel. At breakfast my fellow travellers gave me a Nepalese hat, a Tibetian singing bowl and a hand made birthday card with a picture of Shiva painted on a dried banyon leaf. Very beautiful... I'm going to frame it. Quite a way to start a birthday! We then drove by bus to Chitwan through the mountains to the lower plains arriving mid afternoon. I took a very interesting walk through the local village. The kids all wanted their pictures taken and I had fun taking them. Then we walked to an elephant breeding center. Before dinner we danced with a native tribal dance troup that sang and played drums. At dinner the lodge made me a birthday cake. A very memorable birthday!
Since then the days have been full with many sights and experiences. Am presently in Kathmandu on last day of the tour. Most of the group are going home tomorrow. Robin is presently on a 5 day trekking extention and Lee and Bob are planning a 25 day trekking extenstion starting Sunday to Mount Everest base camp.
Here are a few photos... there are many more. I'm staying an extra day and leaving Kathmandu on Sunday. It has been a great trip and the fellow travellers have been a lot of fun also.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Chitwan girlChitwan girl
Chitwan girl

she ran an got her shawl for this photo. I think she has model potential.
me and Chitwan childrenme and Chitwan children
me and Chitwan children

one of the boys wanted to take my photo with the group. Everyone wanted their picture taken.
dugout canoe trip in Chitwandugout canoe trip in Chitwan
dugout canoe trip in Chitwan

saw lots of crocadiles and birds
bathing with elephantbathing with elephant
bathing with elephant

This was so much fun!!! I laughed and laughed! Best $1.30 I ever spent!
elephant safarielephant safari
elephant safari

we had a several hour elephan safari, 4 people plus driver per elephant. We saw lots of rhino, several types of deer and mongoose and wild boar.
Himalaya mountains by planeHimalaya mountains by plane
Himalaya mountains by plane

Mount Everest in the background


20th March 2010

Dad said he loves seeing your pictures and stories. What a ride on that little boat with the crocodiles! Alot of experiences and a fun group too. We had a great st Pats day here, Dad was decked out like a little leprecaun! YOur blog has been great thanks for sharing your adventures. wishing you a safe trip home--just in time for spring! love, Dad and Julie
20th March 2010

Belated birthday greeting, john. Been following your blog. Super pictures! E mail please when you are back home? db/ srh
20th March 2010

WOW
Fantastic! Trip of a lifetime. Sounds like the best birthday ever. I bet you are already thinking of your next trip to India... Have a safe trip home and can't wait to see all your pictures. Namaste
22nd March 2010

Oh my goodness! what a time you must be having
March 22, 2010 Love your blog... photos are fantastic. I can't wait to hear all about the trip when you return. Unbelievable... you are quite an adventurer. By the way, joined the Fleet Facebook group. Easy and great way to communicate to members. Sent you a regular email today... not sure you will get it. When is your return? I know you are enjoying every minute. Shiela
28th March 2010

Thanks for the blog
I really enjoyed reading all your entries and seeing the pictures; great job with the blog. Congrats on taking the trip and getting so much out of it.
28th March 2010

I'm enjoying your blog! And can see how much you've enjoying being there. Great photos.

Tot: 4.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0279s; 3; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb