Day 25 - Bad Love


Advertisement
Asia
March 13th 2010
Published: March 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 25 - Getting out of bed was a challenge.

Everyone starred at me most of the time and didn't really say a word to me until I started writing my journal. I then attracted quite a crowd. We then started to chat (kind of) about where we we all lived and where we were going. They were also really interested in my lonely planet guide and the maps inside. It was quite nice after that but they all carried on laughing at my funny writing for quite a while.
The view out of the window was quite nice and although I had to listen to the woman in the carriage next door play her Eric Clapton "Bad Love" ring tone over and over it was very pleasant to just watch the countryside go by. I saw my first blossom on the trees and water buffalo in the fields. The vegetation was getting more and more tropical as well. I also saw a tiny little king fisher which was really cool. As with everything in China, the views were often spoiled by piles of rubbish just dumped, presumably because there is no other way for them to dispose of it. Topography was also starting to change and get more hilly with the occasional random hill.

Finally arrived at Guilin station 4 hours late. The directions to the hostel were pretty simple and I was so glad to get there. The day had been wasted because of the train delays so I grabbed a pizza at the hostel bar and bumped into a few cool people who helped me realise that I could still use Wifi on my iphone even though I have no SIM card in it anymore. Can't believe I didnt realise before. Now means I can use free wifi at hostels and email lots more.

Guilin was a fairly big city which is not what I had expected but I hadn't really explored so I didn't want to judge it yet but first impressions were not great. Hostel was OK but more designed for their tropical summers as there was no heating and the showers were almost outside. They had little coal heater things in the bar but it wasn't really enough as weather was still quite bad. At least it wasn't raining. Used the washing machine (which was just randomly on a roof) and tried to settle in.

Watched Breakfast at Tiffany's DVD as I had never seen it... quite good film bit random though.

Advertisement



26th March 2010

John say's he saw a kingfisher down on the stourport canal! ;) I bet your sleeper companions stared at you, they may never have seen a six foot, blonde, white woman before, who writes from left to write and not down and down. We forget that as much as other cultures are a curiosity to us, we too are also a curiosity to others. The scenery sounds wonderful, you are going at a pretty time, with the blossom on the tree's. Lovely. xxx

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 20; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb