Hong Kong


Advertisement
Asia
March 12th 2006
Published: March 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post


Packed and loaded, I was driven to Adelaide's famous international airport by the lovely (and very hung over) Dave and Ebony who graciously got out of bed to drive me at the ungodly hour of 9.45am. 😉

My flight consisted of a short trip to Melbourne sitting next to a screaming kid and right behind a crying baby - both of whom thankfully got off at Melbourne not to return. After a short stopover the plane was loaded up with fresh passengers for the 10 hour flight to Hong Kong. This time I was sitting next to 3 funky rock star hong kong boys with trendy pants and spiky hair and strange glasses. None of them could speak english...or were just to shy to talk to me!

After 10 hours of Aeon Flux, Lethal Weapon 4, the Simpsons, Americas greatest model, turbulence, 2 strange meals, and no sleep - I finally landed in hong kong. And who should I see as I leave the tunnel from the aircraft? My awesome buddy claudia and her mom jackie. Fresh off the plane themselves they had just flown in from vancouver an hour before and were waiting for me before they went home.

After Heading back to Claudia's sister's place we went for a stroll around downtown hong kong at about 11pm. Hong Kong is a strange and amazing place. Easy for english people to get around in because all signs are in english as well as chinese. A fair few people seem to speak it too.

The buildings in hong kong range from pristine skyscrapers gracefully covered with glass, to something that should be in a mad max movie. Left overs from after the apocolypse. Dirty great concrete monsters covered with growths that in past lives used to be air conditioners. And these two extremes will be right next door to each other.

I'm looking forward to going back to hong kong and exploring more of the hazy city. Trying out more of the street food and seeing if I can find clothes that will fit me. But until then... onwards to japan!

Advertisement



14th March 2006

honkers
Hi Loz make sure you catch the star ferry across to kowloon in the evening and stay for the laser display,worth the trip. A trip to Lantau to see the sitting budda is good too. good luck matt
14th March 2006

narita
again loz if you having to wait in narita airport for any length of time it is worth catching a train into the town of narita. it has a long street which had quite a lot of interesting stuff- stalls, temples, guns etc matt

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb