Doing Touristy things


Advertisement
Asia
November 12th 2009
Published: November 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I had a lie in this morning and went off for some breakfast, yes you guessed it, a bowl of beef noodle soup with chilli sauce (pho) and then got suckered into a motorbike tour of the Forbidden Palace, the Emporers Tomb, an old wooden bridge (built 1776) and a village where they made incense sticks by hand. This took about 3 hours and cost $15. I managed to get lost in the Emporers Tomb complex anmd couldn't find the way out - so I asked one of the staff who played dumb and produced a map of Hue - not exactly what I was after but useful anyway - he asked me for $1 for it and trying to be helpful I pull out my wallet with a load of VN Dong in it - the bastard only tried taking a 500,000 Dong note when it should have a been a 20,000 - nearly the same colour and to a tourist they look very samey - anyway I had that back off the robbing git and gave the correct amount - he then showed me where the exit was!

I got back to the motorbvike bloke, who is quite surly, and rides too fast for comfort and back to the hotel - it is way over 30C and I forgot to put any sun block on this morning and my cheek bones are beginning to sting. Good job I brought my bush hat or I would have keeled over by now with heat stroke.

Bad news from home - the woman buying my house wants to drill a hole in my living room floor to see what's causing a bump in it - funny how I lived there for 6 years and never noticed a bump in the floor. Also funny how she originally offered me 140k for the house and got talked up to 145k. Hmmm! Go figure as the septic tanks would say. That's all I need but I'm not giving in - it's now up for grabs agai8n as far as I'm concerned.

Off to sleep for the afternoon then dinner and get drunk in the bar next to the hotel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb