A Thousand Miles from Imprinted Values


Advertisement
Asia
October 8th 2009
Published: October 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

KoreaKoreaKorea

'Home' for the next twelve months
According to the ever recurring digital map ahead of me, I was approximately 11,277m up in the clouds when reality decided to parade its ugly face. Terror began to suffocate ambition. Nerves took over my 'why not' ethic, and nausea began to replace excitement. In honesty, I can't be sure this sudden turn wasn't a cause of the dodgy ravioli served by Turkish Airlines...But one thing was certain. I was heading 8,881km east to a culture completely diverse from my own and to a place I would call home for the next twelve months. So, this was it. There was no turning back. October 3rd 2009. Profession: English Teacher. Destination: South Korea.

I know very little about South Korea. I vagely remember learning about the Korean war in
comprehensive school. I desperately try to cast my mind back to the classroom, its walls immersed
with posters that replicate the propoganda of world war II, the history teacher and his, well, if
Im honest, his disturbing amount of passion for conflicting past events. Think Charlie, think...The
Korean war...The forgotten war...The North and South divide. But it was no use, I clearly didn't
share Mr Shackleton's historical enthusiasm. The only recollection I
Jenifer AnistonJenifer AnistonJenifer Aniston

If it works for Jen...
can surface is doodling smiley
faces over my photocopied map of the peninsula and desperately trying to hide it as the teacher
prowled between wooden desks. If only then I had known that seven years later I would be heading to
the so-called 'Land of the Morning Calm'.

So I began my research and did my best to absorb an understanding of a culture affected by war,
division and invasion. I searched the internet and read blogs by previous travellers who had
ventured to the far East and gave 'crucial advice' on surviving a year in Korea. In Samantha
Amara's, 'Chopsticks and Frenchfries' I came across information regarding Korea's apparent limited
supply of tampax and deodrant. NO TAMPAX AND DEODRANT? Surely not! I persisted on with books, blogs
and reviews but it became clear that the best way to learn about a country and its culture was to
experience it for myself. The suitcase finally replaced books as I struggled to pack for a whole
year in Korea. What clothes should I wear? Do I really need that many shoes? Three weeks and eight
'to-do' lists later the packing was finally complete. As my departure date lingered ever closer, I squashed in the fifth pack of jumbo sized tampax and decided one more roll-on deodrant couldn't hurt...

October 3rd 2009, 11.55pm:
Sporting that bleary red-eyed travellers look, I sprint down the clinical corridors from my delayed
flight in Instanbul. As the final boarding calls flash on the screens surrounding me, I pray that I
make my connecting flight which will take me to the worlds third largest city. After not one but TWO wrong gate inncidents, I dive through gate 218 fighting back tears of panic and clutching my one way ticket. I make it with mere minutes to spare as Im the last passenger to board flight 900 to Seoul. Phew!

I recently read that before each journey, global superstar Jennifer Anniston taps the aircraft with her left hand and steps on the plane with her right foot for good luck. Well, if its good enough for Jen....Two quick taps with my left (puzzled looks flicker amongst the perfectly groomed air hostesses), hop on with my right (maybe Jen does this more discreetly?), a hurried glance over my shoulder (I wonder if Jen ever flies economy?) and a bold wave goodbye to my western values.

Advertisement



8th October 2009

Best of luck on your travels....I will read the blogs religiously!!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb