...and so on...


Advertisement
Asia
September 25th 2009
Published: September 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In bullet points...

- Last Monday I started Chinese lessons. They began at 8am in the morning which is nice and early. During the first lesson the teacher made us make silly noises in order for us to practise the various sounds of the Chinese language. This was very embarassing. I have since stopped going to these Chinese lessosn because firstly, I miss two days a week because I am teaching and so everyone else is a bit ahead of me, and secondly, I can learn Chinese more efficiently in other ways.

- I went for a hair cut in a subterrenean hair salon. It only cost 10 yuan (£1). When I arrived they washed my hair for me, cut it (this took 45 mins) and then washed it again. How exciting! During this time Wil sat chatting with the chinese hair cutting boys.

- Lessons in class have been getting better. This week was my best lesson yet, hurray! I think I'm getting the hang of things. Last week during one lesson I ran out of things to do with five minutes to spare, so I got 2 girls to stand up and sing "hey jude". Wonderful.

- I went to the book shop to buy a chinese to english dictionary. Whilst looking at the dictionaries a girl decided to come over and talk to me. After talking for a while she asked me if I had a pen in my 'hand bag' (referring to the green messenger bag I often use). She then asked for a note book so she could write down her name for me. She also left her phone number. I'll send her a message when my phone arrives from England.

- Jemima and I went to Lu Xiang, a local shopping area. The first exciting thing I bought was S.H.E. milk! YES! I now have them above my fridge as some sort of flat decoration. We also decided to buy what we thought were roasted chestnuts from the street. The problem however was that we think they were actually roasted conkers. not so delicious. We also found a nice cake shop.

- I was walking to the internet bar when I saw a man walking along the road holding two leads. One lead was for a large fluffy white dog and the other was for a tiny pink and black piglet. I stopped and laughed. He smiled.

- I went to a karokoe. This was great. So great the 10 or so of us stayed there until 5am.

Right I have had enough of blogs. Next correspondence will be a video!!! yes the long awaited videos are coming! I don't have a computer but I will use some video editing software on Wil's computer.

Bye Bye.


Advertisement



6th October 2009

You shut up! The roasted chestnuts or conkers or whatever are super great, they are some of the most popular snacks in China! If you dont like them, go back to your British Empire!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb