Paying a heavy price for Mcleod's peace!


Advertisement
Asia
September 7th 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

My neighboursMy neighboursMy neighbours

My neighbours at Upel Guest House...they ran a shop that was always very neatly stocked
A feast of colors at McLeodGanj... and much peace of mind .....notings on 7th Sep, 2009

From the high point on the hill station of McLeod Gang, green coniferous forests stretch for as far as the eye can see and at sunset on a clear day an orange glow permeates the sky. In the right season, the snow line is within eye sight.

As if man was competing with the feast nature throws up, the settlements and markets in the bylanes of the hill station boast of their own riot of colours. Green, yellow and red papers in triangular shapes—colors of the Tibetan flag—are stringed across the tallest trees, while the markets have hand-woven hats and mittens in all hues.

On my second day at D'sa (Dharmashala), I ran up from my lodgings near the Tibetan Parliament to McLeod, and then was ready to do some shopping. I bought a shirt and a woolen hat from one of the shops where two Tibetan-looking women urged me very politely to try different items. "Bahut achchca hey, Bhayya (it's a very nice item, brother) they would say as my eyes gazed over the many items on display. After much
Tree of Hope!Tree of Hope!Tree of Hope!

At the Rogpa Cafe, the Tree grew on the wall and up the ceiling too! I liked the chocolate brownie at the Cafe.
coercing, I bought a locally-made scent too. I paid for all the three items. But the young lady shook her head. "Nahi, nahi bhayya, uska paisa toh pehley dey diya," (You have already paid for the other two items)... she told me. "Oh, mey toh bhool hi gaya tha" (Oh, I had forgotten) I said. "Nahi, nahi, hum aisa nahi kartey....humara dharam hey." (No, we would never take extra money. It's forbidden in our religion).

As I left they younger lady said that "aaj bahut dhanda hoga" (my coming was bound to get them a lot of business!)"
"Bahut acchcha" (so be it) I said, and walked away waving my hand to them and smiling to myself :-)

Along with great memories and new friends, the environs at Mcleod also gifted me a care-free attitude... on my return train trip from Pathankot to Dilli, I forgot to chain my luggage during the night. When I woke up, the train had already pulled into Dilli station and most passengers had left. Two of my bags had gone too 😞




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Their angst on the posters...Their angst on the posters...
Their angst on the posters...

...Tibetan refugees at Dharamshala vent out their fury at Chinese premiers by calling them 'Red Handed Butchers'
Mountain View from Tibet Hope CenterMountain View from Tibet Hope Center
Mountain View from Tibet Hope Center

That's me outside Tibet Hope Center


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb