Glasses related incidents


Advertisement
Asia
September 19th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

by Kerry

Trauma! I have learned an expensive lesson by not taking out separate insurance for loss & accidental damage of my valuables. So far it has just been glasses related.

First I lost my Armani sunnies. This was very traumatic. Think I left them on a wall at the beach 😞 I decided not to replace them as one of my 2 pair of glasses are those that double as sunnies by darkening in UV. So I'm waiting to find a cheap pair in a shop where I believe the UVA sticker is real.

Then, I was smacked in the glasses by a falling metal chain on an Indian train. For those not familiar with the 3-tier Indian carriages they have detachable chains to support the middle bed which is folded away during the day. The chains are secured to a hook but this one slipped into my face. I suppose I was lucky to be wearing glasses or I could/would have been blinded in said eye! The result was a small crack in the (VERY EXPENSIVE) right lens. It's not too noticeable though and I can still see out. Phew!

Lastly (at least so far)
BrokenBrokenBroken

(photo: in a rickshaw, Manali)
I woke up on the flight to Bangkok to find my already cracked glasses missing. After a bit of searching I found one of the arms down the front of my top where I'd left it and the rest down the side of my seat. They're broken! At least it was the damaged pair right!?

Well, I found out that I can get 'em fixed for under a tenner but not back to full strength so they'd break again. Another option is to get the lenses fitted into new frames, saving the cost of new lenses. But there's a crack so what's the point!?! Third option: new glasses. Fourth option: fuggetaboutit. I give up for now..

So I left the UK with one pair of sunnies and 2 pairs of glasses. I now have one pair of (sun/)glasses: the ones that Graham doesn't like.

Bugger!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

SurvivedSurvived
Survived

(photo: on the plane. Flying Paramount - nice planes. Love the dozing Betty in the back)


Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb