Drunks


Advertisement
Asia
September 14th 2009
Published: September 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, we went to Vox last Friday. We also went to Wuhan prison, which is not acutally a prison (this even fools Wuhanese). In Wuhan prison (its a bar) we all met a very drunk Chinese woman and China's biggest punk rocker (allegedly) who had fallen asleep on a sofa.

Oh yeah, Drunks. I have seen this three times now in China, twice last friday. The first time I saw it I thought it was a one off but seen as though I saw it twice in one night it must be relativly common. The sight was that of a young man in his 20's who is so drunk he appears to be dying of the plauge. Apart from the drunk girl at Wuhan prison, who was drunk but in control, Chinese people are either sober (99.9999% of them) or drunk (0.0001% of them) to the point of apocalypse. I'll describe one incident in detail. A large group of us were sat in the street at a resturant when suddenly a man was helped towards the road by two of his friends. The man could not walk, and when I say "not walk" I mean he couldn't even straigthen his legs. He was also making loud groaning noises as if some intensly painful disease had taken hold of him. Also, his eyes appeared to be streaming, and this seemed to be the case with another drunk I had seen as well. Finally, he vomited in the street and was then carried down the road by his two friends. Entertainly, while the drunkard was in the road he was holding up a truck. When the man was carted away the truck parked where he had just been sick and the driver got out and began to unload his cargo: kegs of beer!

Vox was OK. I spent a lot of the time dancing with the drunk woman we met in Wuhan Prison and trying to encourage her to sort her life out. She was drunk because she was sad you see, and I am a caring person. On our way home at 3am the taxi driver (a woman!) slowed down to point out that a man was being kicked and beaten as he lay on the floor by a large crowd. I am told that this is common in China. Lots of people also came out to watch this event. No police had arrived yet. China actually seems to have very few police.

I have heard Wuhan being described as "China's biggest village" and the drunk woman in vox told me that Wuhan was a place for "pig farmers". I think it's OK personally, all populations fall along a bell curve.

On Saturday I didn't get up until 3.30pm and went to bed again at 12 midnight. In between this I accompanied my friends to Pizza Hut where collectivly they spent a whopping 750 RMB (£75) on pizza takeaway. I left pizza hut with about a weeks wages worth of pizza in two plastic bags. We walked in a convoy to prevent banditry. I also met Rainbow Jew again (I know she loves being mentioned in my blogs).

Since Sunday I have been trying to devise some kind of plan for my lessons over the next semester. The textbook we have been given is far too advanced and so I can't rely on it to actually teach the things my students need to know. I therefore have to improvise. I shall get back to this task now.

NB. I get paid tomorrow.

Rob.

Advertisement



14th September 2009

New Phrase
Rob Sorry I have not responded earlier to your mails but I have been rather busy with one thing and another. I will respond at length probably tomorrow but I was intrigued at your use of the phrase ' all populations fall along a bell curve' Is it American? What does it mean? Is it off television? It sounds very impressive-in fact I think I wil throw it in to my next meeting. dad
15th September 2009

bell curves
I was going to say, "every town/country has its bad peopl", but I felt it was too much of a cliche. I therefore said, "all populations fall along a bell curve", which effectivly means the same thing. In Wuhan, as everywhere in the world, there are good people, bad people and then people in the middle. I don't know this to a scientific standard of knowledge but it is also probable that, as with most human traits, there are a small number of idiots, a small number of exceptional people, and then most other people come somewhere in between. When this is drawn on a graph it makes a the shape of a bell, which is where the name comes from. Google search "normal distribution" if you want to know more.
21st September 2009

What in God's name were you doing google searching normal distribution in the first place to stumble across this information?! Keep up the sleezy posts about your students. See how long you can keep your job for! Alex

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb