I'm such a tourist


Advertisement
Asia
September 3rd 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

In the rain forestIn the rain forestIn the rain forest

During my guided tour of the rain forest in the heart of KL. Gives a whole new meaning to the sayig 'urban jungle' huh?
Day Two in KL I decided it was time to see the typical touristy sites. I've bought this great guidebook from the airport with different walks you can do around the city to see different kinds of things (which is how I knew all about the gardens yesterday). This time I headed off to the famous Petronas Twin Towers (I can't call it the twin towers without thinking of disaster). The train took my to Suria KLCC station which exits straight into a shopping complex. I made a fool of myself exiting the complex and asking a guard outside where the towers were. I was standing right under them! (In my defense it was raining buckets so I hadn't exactly stepped out from the cover and looked up.)

While I let the sky finish crying with laughter at my embassasment I explored some of the awesome crafty and artistic shops I found in one section of the shopping centre. It also hosted Galeri Petronas where there was all kind of Malaysian art. (Most of it modern stuff I didn't like but there were some very cool sculptures). My guide book also recommended Pucuk Pebung Royal Gallery-Museum which had some beautiful antiques but not a single plaque to explain what any of them were! The guy who worked there also trailed me around the store at what he probably imagined was a respectful distance. Whilst he answered some of my questions he didn't volunteer infomation so I can only assume he was either a) worried I would try to take a photo when I'm not allowed to or b) (and this is more likely because it happened a lot) was desperately hoping I would spend lots of money because being western I of course had to be rich. This assumption starts to make you feel a bit like a scrooge because of course you DON'T go throwing money at every item you admire and the shop assistants watch you like a hawk (or keep trying to show you things).

Once the rain stopped I headed across the road where I could actually SEE the two towers! Whilst impressive they are much more beautiful at night (as I discovered later).

Tip: If a monk approaches you (and there are many around the tower) and bows at you and tries to give you a prayer card DON'T accept it! He is a very crafty beggar who will make you think he's being nice beause he's a monk. I got completely done and put in a position where I pretty much HAD to make a donation to his monastery rebuilding. NOT happy Jan. I won't be making that mistake twice.

I spent the rest of the afternoon enjoying the Menara Kuala Lumpur (or the KL Tower). The view was great and there's an audio guide. Better yet though I timed it so I got to see a free cultural dance (beautiful costumes!) and go on a guided tour of Bukit Nanas Forest Recreational Park - the only patch of natural rainforest left in the middle of KL. (And I got mozzie bit despite wearing repellant! Grrr.)

That night after walking an hour and a half to find it, I bought some tasty goodies from the Ramadan market (they sell awesome juices to you in tied up plastic bags instead of bottles or cups. Weird).

All in all a much nicer day than yesterday (but I still hate the weather).




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Western Food!Western Food!
Western Food!

Where we have Asian takeaway, they have Western takeaway! I thought it was hillarious.


14th September 2009

Urban Jungle
Yes, that's what we found in Asia - greenery everywhere- even growing up buildings and on bridges etc. Everything is so lush. Love the Western takeaway- although Crabsticks Spaghetti is a rather unusual "western" meal! The toweres are very impressive, too.

Tot: 0.357s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 16; qc: 85; dbt: 0.1185s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb