Getting used to China


Advertisement
Asia
September 1st 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!

We have slowly been getting used to China. Changchun is considered a "medium" sized city even though there are 7 million people living here! We live about 10 minutes (walking-wise) away from the school, and there are stores lining every street, which is pretty convenient. There's a store across from our school called Hengkeleng (Hong-ku-long) that we usually shop at, everything (minus electronics) is so cheap here! Like we went grocery shopping last week and bought some veggies, 2 chickens, and hamburger meat for 9 bucks! Cooking here is pretty tricky though-- we don't have an oven yet or the time!

The job has been moving slowly for both of us. We have only taught one class so far, and I'm stuck observing classes for the next week. Watching other people teach can get really boring, especially when watching them teach kids. It's all "Look! an apple is red!" for 2 hours. The one class I taught was kind of meh- only one person showed up! I guess the students here are preparing for exams so people don't have the time this week to come to class.

Good news is we have a vacation coming up! China's national holiday is on October 1st, so they're giving us September 27-October 11 off. Did I mention that we get PAID during our vacation. Woohoo!
We're thinking about going to Jiuzhaigou, North of Sichuan province, which is near Tibet. It's supposed to be really beautiful, but it is a long long way from us so we haven't decided if we're ready to make that trip. Two of the other teachers are going to Russia... but I kind of want to go somewhere warm for our vacation!!

Anyways, I've started to edit the video of Beijing last night- hopefully I'll get it done tomorrow and I can get it up on the blog.

We miss you all!


Advertisement



1st September 2009

Miss You
Sounds like you are enjoying China. Wow, a paid vacation after such a short time. That is just great. We are putting together a package of goodies to send you and Mike. Well I'm at work so I have to make this short. Love ya lots...Dad.
5th September 2009

Hey dad- miss you too! I hope you all are having fun up north for labor day, because I'm sooo jealous!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb