Home Sweet Shanghai


Advertisement
Asia
August 23rd 2009
Published: August 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I wrote a long post while on the boat about the second half of my time in Japan- which I plan on posting as soon as I have access to wifi with my laptop. (Im writing this from a computer in the hostel)

**Breaking News: It looks as though Facebook and the People's Party have parted ways, so I'm not sure when I'll be able to use it again. Maybe not till I leave China. So please don't talk to me there unless I talk to you first!

The vote is still out on China. John and I enjoyed a marathon walk today from the ferry to the metro- all told my bags were on my back for 2.5 hours which is about 2 hrs longer than they have ever been. To make it worse it was hot, smelly, humid, and shocking.

When we put our bags down at the hostel, I demanded food and water as quickly as possible. John wanted to get started on the apartment trail, but my threats of a total meltdown won out. We walked out of our hostel and found the closest hole in the wall hawking noodles. Also John was almost peed on on the way by a little boy in the street, which I found very funny but John didn't. Turns out 60 cents on ZhouShan Roud can get you the best bowl of noodles Ive ever had- though compared to the Japanese food we've been eating the last couple of days, anything is good.. especially if it doesn't taste like fish or octopus.

So far my only observations of Shanghai are thus-

1. Men really like walking around with no shirts on spitting loud disgusting loogies into the streets.
2. Food in China smells and tastes way way better than I expected.
3. Sweet bean paste is disgusting, and I will never change my mind about this.

More + Pictures to come!

Advertisement



27th August 2009

different
Meg- Maybe we should have gone on a few hikes with full packs.... it's a great way to get in shape. It is VERY different in the east... from your description it hasn't changed very much since I last was there..... have fun! luv dad

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb