Singapore


Advertisement
Asia
August 9th 2009
Published: August 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I arrived safe and sound! Mind you it was a long 28+ hours to get here. Let me explain. My dad and I got the the Ottawa airport and were checking in when the lady at the kiosk then asked for my visa. I then told her that I did not need a visa because I was a student, and that when I arrived I had to submit for my student visa on the registration day. I had all the supporting documentation that I "thought" I needed. She then told us that she had never encounter such a thing and basically told me I wasn't going to be allowed into the county. Long story short, I spent the whole trip freaking out and trying to get ahold of the embassy, when I arrived there were NO problems!

While my mom was here we did lots of sight seeing. We travelled to Little India, China Town, Sentosa, and went to Raffles to get a famous Singapore Sling! (Set us back $25sd mind you for one!)

During that week we also went by to check out my apartment.... first impression = horrible! After doing a solid cleaning and getting some stuff to fill the place, it quickly started to shape up! Now that all my roommates are moved in, we are having a great time! We are actually all from Canada! And we are SO glad to have air-conditioning! the residences on campus don't have AC!

As for the weather, it's hot and humid!! If you're able to check out the weather network, search Singapore and you'll see the temperature. Make sure to look at "feels like" because the temperature is usually around 32 C, but feels like 44 C!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb