Kunming


Advertisement
Asia
August 5th 2009
Published: August 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Its been a long time since I've written anything. I guess the last time was in Yinchuan? That seems like ages ago. from Yinchuan I went to Chengdu, a big city with some great areas (most famously the Panda breeding center). I spent about five days in Chengdu before heading south to Mt. Emei, the tallest of the four sacred Buddhist mountains of China. It was probably the most difficult hikes I've ever done, and it took a good 12 hours. The summit has a monestary, temple, and a huge golden Buddha pagoda that has a four-faced/bodied Buddha riding four badass looking elephants. I tried sleeping outside on the edge of the Golden Summit, but it got way too cold so I went inside a cable car station and slept on some chairs (yes you can cheat and take a couple cable cars or drive to the top).

After Emei Shan I went to Leshan, famous for it's protected heratage sites which include the worlds largest Buddha and an amazing forest area just outside the city on the edge of the Yangtze river. I went back to Chengdu to visit baby Giant and Red Pandas (CUTE), then took a train to Chongqing. I'm skipping over daily activities, strange occurances and other things because they're best told in person. Chongqing is one of Chinas "ovens". It's very hot, humid, and the famous dish Huoguo, or Hotpot, will get you sweating even more. It's definitely worth it though. Chongqing is huge. The main city has about 10 million people and the surrounding municipality holds a total of 31 million. I stayed at the Yangzte Youth Hostel right across from the river where I became friends with Xiao Lu who checked me in (a beautifully warm 22 year-old who came to Chongqing to work and study), a 37 year-old man named Simon who's been traveling for the past 11 years in over 30 countries around the world teaching english, and his angelic Chinese friend John. I have good stories about my time with these wonderful people.

I stayed in Chongqing for a week seeing the city with friends, going to the Sichuan Art University and the Graffiti Art Street, tasting delicious food (Hao Chi!), and sitting by the Yangtze at night philosophizing and sharring thoughts and stories. I think I fell in love with this country in Chongqing, and I would have stayed if I didn't have to go back to the States. It was difficult leaving good friends, but I knew I had to keep going if I wanted to complete what I had set out to do. I took a 24 hour train ride from Chongqing to Kunming where I am now, sitting in a great hostel on the third floor of a building near the city square. I haven't really had any food in a while so I'm going to go out and find something. In the next couple days I will buy a visa for Laos and head south into the least modernized country of south east Asia (so i've heard).

One of the many things Simon shared with me was this:When you travel, I mean really travel and live, and you get to know a city, a country, and its people you fall in love with it, with them. Every time you leave it breaks your heart. Imagine how much pain I've felt over the past 11 years. If you’re lucky you might get to experience the pain I’ve felt. It’s like nothing you’ll ever experience in your life.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb