Korat - Chock Chai - Buddhist Lent - Lost and Saved in Thailand


Advertisement
Asia
July 14th 2009
Published: July 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Buddhist Lent - Chock ChaiBuddhist Lent - Chock ChaiBuddhist Lent - Chock Chai

The golden wax floats must take long hours of work

Holy Days and Street Parades



From squat toilets to western comfort



Well I have reverted to my western comforts and spent a few days staying at the Korat Resort about 10km from the village near Chock Chai. The father of the family I stay with and usually sleep in their house was a bit unsure as to my reasoning for this but I explained that the dogs bark and wake me up in the middle of the night. He laughed and seemed to accept my excuse, lets face it, I need a good night's sleep and it doesn't happen in the village. It is also nice to have an air conditioned room and warm shower away from the heat and mozzies that hover in the village. I think it does everyone good to have a short break from eachother and I don't want to wear out my welcome, although I know everyone is always keen to see me.

The Korat Resort is a blast from the 60's in regards to decoration and layout but it is spotlessly clean, has a huge pool and very nice grounds to wander about for a long walk in the country air. Korat Resort is highly recommended although being a bit basic in atmosphere and features, it is a perfect retreat for a few days in the country. The restaurant has a beautiful setting by a lake and the food is excellent and very good value. I tried to find the osrtiches shown on their resort brochures but they told me "big bird, it dead !!!". There would have been a huge bbq that night.

I have also hired a car, this was a big step forward after having always been afraid to drive in Thailand. It really makes a huge difference being free to go wherever you want without waiting for buses or tuk tuks. You need eyes in the back of your head and I had some near misses but I feel fairly comfortable driving in the rural areas. There is no way I would drive in Bangkok, not yet anyway.

Speaking of Bangkok, I don't think I could ever live there. The pollution is too much for me and I love the fresh air and the country life, with some short trips to the beach at Jomtiem near Pattaya. Now I have the best of everything, times spent with the family in the village and the more modern facilities at the beach resorts.

Pattaya can be a sleazy place near the tourist area but Jomtiem nearby is very nice and relaxed. Taxis between both areas are cheap and for 10 baht you can travel a long distance, all the shops and food malls are close by. The triangle of Bangkok, Korat and Pattaya/Jomtiem is an appealing mixture for a holiday or even living in this country. A nice condo at Jomtiem Beach may be in my long term plans.

I stayed in Korat last Saturday night at the Sima Thani Hotel and went alone to the nearby Ta Wang Den Disco. One of the great positives about Thailand is that you are never really alone, unless you want to be and I can do that when I am back in Australia. Here every new friendship, however brief is a bonus and usually fun. Ta Wang Den is live Thai music at it's best with the rousing anthems and music for dancing, a great night out.

Before long I was clicking my glass with two guys nearby and then another table of locals invited me to drink with them. I know some girls are looking for a farang husband and that is part of my appeal but others are just being friendly without an agenda for being nice to me. Ta Wang Den is packed every night of the week and you can have a meal while enjoying the music.

Touched by a Monk



It is Buddhist Lent time again which means street parades and parties with each town making a large golden float made of wax which is driven to the Chock Chai town square on the Monday and then to Korat City on the Tuesday. This is a huge festival in all of Thailand and there were thousands of people in the small town of Chock Chai for the event. My friend was working, yes they even have to work sometimes on a public holiday, so I took mother, brother Sek, cousin Buhm and young girl Gamling from across the street.

It is so nice to be able to spend a day with anyone from the village, especially when they are now so totally at ease with me although none of them speak any english and me little or "nit noi" Thai language. As far as they are concerned I am part of their extended family now and we seem to be able to communicate by a smile or gesture.

Buddhist Lent is also called the candle festival because it is the time the monks are given candles by the people to show them the light while they stay inside their temples for the next three months.

We wandered around the town centre all afternoon watching the arriving floats and street parades with a large fair and market also operating at the same time. I walked out into the street to see when the next float was arriving and I was suprised when grabbed by the arm by a smiling monk who recognised me from the village. Monks are not allowed any physical contact with females and do not seem to have a habit of touching men that much so maybe I have been blessed, hopefully good luck will follow, a lottery win would be good to keep paying for these trips.

15yo Sek does know a few english words like "we go home now" which he said at about 6.00 pm after a big day in Chock Chai.

On Sunday 12th I spent another full day with the family after being in Pattaya for two days and Bangkok for one night. We visited Chock Chai in the pouring rain to fix up their computer printer and then went to the very muddy markets out near the village. Sunday night was really pleasant. I sat in the middle of the room surrounded by about six kids from our soi, mother and father and the rest of the family.

Lost Twice and Saved by a Thai Angel



Monday 13th July

I had the brilliant idea to go and visit a cave about 44km from Korat in my rented Honda Jazz. About half way to my destination I was pulled over by the police - "you speeding sir - 200 baht please" OK I am not going to argue.

I missed the turn off to the cave and ended up at a cafe drinking coffee with a Thai lady and her daughter who of course was looking for a husband. They gave me some directions and I never did find that cave so I decided to visit the Korat Fossil Museum. Don't visit museums on mondays as they are nearly always closed. Next stop was the Korat water park which is great and has a 3km walking track and exercise areas, I would love to see this re-created in Adelaide.

I walked around the track around it's huge lake and then returned to my car. I was stopped by a tall, imposing army policemen - "where you go sir?" - "back to my car, then back to my hotel" - after many further questions "OK sir enjoy your day, welcome Thailand". I did not realise but I had parked in the army barracks which is not really enclosed by fences and is like a large community centre with shops, housing, sporting pitcehs and fishing lakes. Korat has army and airforce barracks and they are very security conscious. From what I know of the Thais I would always want them as my allies as they would be a very fierce opponent in any battle.

Well I got back to my car and of course went in the wrong direction. I drove a long way and ended up totally lost in the back streets. I was picking up my friend from the factory at 8pm and I was starting to panic, how would I find my way back? I stopped at a market stall and asked for directions. The lady at the stall rang her friend who spoke english so she could translate my request, hopped in her car and I followed her all the way for the forty minute trip back through the winding streets of Korat city to my hotel.

I was so amazed by this act of kindness that I had a tear in my eye when I thanked the lady. She was smiling and gave me the Thai wai with a bow. Yes I know what your thinking, tired and emotional again. That is true but her help made an ordanary day so much better and left a lasting impression upon me. How wonderful that she would do this for a total stranger, no reward expected, I wish I could find her again and give her a present. The Buddhist teachings and way of life certainly are reflected in the kindness of the Thai people.

It reminded me of the postman who took me all the way back to the war museum in Kanchanaburi when I got lost there. There is always someone who will help you here. By the way I did make it to the factory on time. They are working 12 hour shifts most days, 6 days per week for 6550 baht ($A265) per month inluding overtime and that is considered good money here. Up at 5am in the morning to get ready and home about 9pm. So don't complain about your working conditions if you are back in Australia - it really is a reality check being here.

Korat Nightlife/Bars



Ta Wang Den - Still my favourite place in Korat although themusic has changed to a more funkier style away fromthe Thai pop/folk and Iam yet to hear a song from the Carabou band that I like so much. This place is packed nearly every night and the people are very friendly.

Ban Korat - My first visit on Saturday night and was less than impressed when they did not even offer me a drink. Staff are confused when someone arrives at a club alone, they are used to serving groups and by the bottle of whiskey, most clubs will not serve a single glass of spirits and mixer. The music
Duck SeasonDuck SeasonDuck Season

There are thousands of ducks in the rice fields near the village at present
was good and typical Thai pop/folk music. I might take my friends from the village there sometime for a night out, I think they would like the place. It is a quarter the size of Ta Wang Den and has a nice cosy atmosphere.

U Turn - I went there Sunday night and this is the most popular bar at present for the disco set with live music, two bands played while I was there,not really keen on the Thai hip hop but the rest was good. This place is very loud but a large upmarket facility and currently open to 4am. They must be paying their tea money to the right people because they used to close at midnite. I asked for a Bacardi and Coke mixer and got a Bacardi Breezer and a bottle of coke, I must learn more Thai language soon. It worked out fine because I mixed the coke and breezer and it tasted quite good.

Korat Hotels



Sima Thani Hotel - Expensive and old fashioned but a nice place to stay. Was full because of the world vollyball chamionships so they upped their prices. I was offered the Royal Suite for 20000 baht reduced to 16000 baht, the last room available and they were serious. This is $A800 per night, sorry er "no thanks". Their rooms are worth about 1200 baht for this miserly farang althgough I am sure it is a very nice palatial room.

Srippitanni Hotel - A blast from the past with decor from the 60's. 650 baht per night is good value but I don't think that I will stay there again after discovering the V-One Hotel.

V-One - 750 baht discounted prices in the economic downturn. A nice modern hotel, highly recommended. My room was a bit noisy in the front building near the main road. There are three buildings so take a more expensive room in the main hotel building or one of the Holywood rooms, my choice next time.

Well I am in Bangkok and fly home tomorrow. It is Saturday night so i am going out, one last party for this visit !!!

Kop khun khrap - Thank you

Sawatdee khrap - Goodbye

Pob gan mai - See you again soon

Click on the pics if you want a larger view of the 31 photos (click Next to see more pics).








Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

Don Kwian Pottery VillageDon Kwian Pottery Village
Don Kwian Pottery Village

Located between Korat and Chock Chai
Pha Koh Sanctuary Pha Koh Sanctuary
Pha Koh Sanctuary

Near Chock Chai
Rambutan - Thai FruitRambutan - Thai Fruit
Rambutan - Thai Fruit

Not that sweet but a more bland taste
My rental carMy rental car
My rental car

Budget in Korat are very good for renting cars at Tesco Lotus
The Mall KoratThe Mall Korat
The Mall Korat

This girl could really sing - Issan magic
Water Park KoratWater Park Korat
Water Park Korat

A magnificent 3 km walking/jogging track


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb