Hohhot, it's not so hot.


Advertisement
Asia
July 9th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I traveled by train 12 hours northwest to Hohhot, the capitol of Inner Mongolia (claimed by China) and home to 4 million people. I needed to escape Beijing, so Hohhot was a gamble being that I didn't know much about it. It's not as hot as Beijing's humid weather, but I don't think I'll be staying for more than a couple days.

I went to Hohhot's meuseum with an Australian woman who's doing field work for her Phd. in Outer Mongolia (not claimed by China). We both agreed that Hohhot is nice, but there's not a whole lot to do, it's another big city. There are many summer festivals happening in the grasslands of Outer Mongolia right now, the major events being horse races, wrestling, and bow and arrow contests. I would like to witness them myself, but because I only have one more entry for China on my visa I don't think I'll be doing so, maybe I'll get to see some as I head west in Inner Mongolia.

For some reason I figured I could just take a train from China to Thailand, but as you know I would have to pass through Laos or Vietnam first. I've been hearing from others that it's quite easy to obtain these visas, but I don't want to do it again on my way back. So it looks like Thailand is out of the picture. This is a little dissapointing, but I've also heard it has become very westernized and full of tourists. Instead I think I'll either be going to Vietnam or Laos. As I travel west in the next few days I'm not sure when I'll get to a hostel with internet, but I'll make sure to update my plans when I do.

Advertisement



9th July 2009

Not Hot in the Apostle Islands either
Hey Harrison---Greetings from beautiful Lake Superior where it is also not hot. Gorgeous sunny, blue skies on Madeline Island but we actually saw our breath last night. I think you made a good decision about Thailand. I was just talking with Debi Niebuhr last week and you probably recall that she just returned from Vietnam and Thailand. She also said Thailand was very westernized. She raved about the beauty and people of Vietnam. Will return to Bellingham in a few days. Spotty has grown accustomed to Susan so all is well with the kitties. (Libby made an immediate adjustment but Spot was stressed for several days). Hope your travels continue to amaze you....
12th July 2009

vietnam is more worth it than thailand, though thailand is beautiful. it is interesting because of our history with vietnam...

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb