The Land of the Spit (China Part 2)


Advertisement
Asia
June 22nd 2009
Published: July 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey folks!!!

So we made it through China, and what an epic journey it has been! woo hoo!

So when we last left you we were leaving Chengdu after seeing the great Pandas aka homeland for Jit and now onto the most "Westernised" parts of China and to some extent this lived up to its name.

After another long ass train journey, we arrived in Xi'an...the home of the Terracota Army I will never complain about having a long ass journey again, we have done 12hours, we have done 18hours and to top that we have done 30hours...we are hardcore!(well at least I am...not so sure about her!!!). We used this time quite badly as we both had burnt out at this point and were in need of some serious R&R time. We met some great people (old and young) on our tour to see the Army which was a great start. In particular an Irish group that consisted of Ciara and her son Sidney from Shanghai, as well as her mum and aunt who were on holiday visiting Ciara in China. The Army itself, well lets say we both expected more. It was a great sight and is really impressive, but for some reason I expected thousands of these magnificent statues, but there were only a few hundred (To be fair, those 200 were great and the work that goes into them is unbelievable...20 years to rebuild 6 statues in one of the pits....thats a serious jigsaw puzzle). Glad we've seen it though. To be fair they were impressive but we went to see them via a tour and it wore us down...we are not tour lovers! We did manage to go out and do some shopping (surprise surprise) We didn't buy anything...well I did not buy anything...novelty is wearing thin (she lies peoples, all LIES) and wandered the Muslim Quarter which was so surreal. Chinese people sporting head scarves and the little muslim hats, so wierd to see. But they did serve up some amazing food. Hang on here, they deceived me. I thought I was getting something that looked very much like dry potato curry and i was so excited...but no it was rice curd in disguise. Future reference for anyone visiting China or going for a Chinese, do not order it!!! (yeah that was pretty rank, it felt like someone had gobbed in an ice tray, cooled it, added some spices and you had to chew it down! So most of our time in Xi'an was spent chilling in the great place we were staying in and bummed out. On one of these night, my ego was destroyed. So it went a little like this...I will tell you the real version afterwards!

Us two and maybe 5 others were chilling in the bar, tipsy, just chilling in the evening, and this Chinese guy look through this wooden divider, looks at us, says hello and points to me and says big man! Considering we were a group of 5 girls and a one guy...Jit was the 'big guy!'. (oi shut it tart) I've had this loads in China, although I've lost most of my size, I'm still at least twice the size of most people here. The girls!!! (I said shut it) So seen as I'm used to it I laughed and said thank you. The Chinese dude lured him in...hook, line and sinker! He then asks do I want to arm wrestle, so me being a little tipsy and thinking how hard can it be with this little Chinese dude, accepted with a beer being the prize. Macho bravado! So this guy stands up and comes around and I get a glipse at this 6"5 giant Chinese guy who is built like a house Jit is not exaggerating here!. I aint kidding he was massive with a tiny head, and thats the only part I saw of him and gladly so. This guy sits down and crushes me. I didnt stand a chance. And everyone expected me to win being all "muscle" and all!!! This guy was ridiculously strong. I mean super man like! Turns out he has been in the army special forces for 9 years and is as hard as nails!!! I was a good sport about it and bought him is beer (ass). My ego was severly destroyed but you'll be glad to know its back to its massive size again!!! I knew as soon as it happened a lot of gentle TLC words will be needed...the ego was smashed, the eyes said it all to me!

Anyway we said out goodbyes to Xi'an and made our way to Ping Yao. This place was supposed to be real China...no McDonalds and KFC on every corner (damn the Chinese love thier fast food....they are everywhere - in Xi'an they have one on every corner...). Did not stop you having it a few times did it! - if I recall my dear, it is you who craves KFC, so....Whatever! It felt like real China. A walled city, no cars, and just local people. Small narrow streets lined with red laterns, locals going about their everyday business, really nice. We spent two days just soaking it up, no sight seeing, no nothing, just walking around. It was a great little place. We met some amazing people here and had a blast. We hung out in this cafe/bar/restaurant place for the entire time...we had a local...was great!!! The British, Americans, Thai/Swedish, Israelian, a Kiwi and even a German hung out, it was also here that future plans with regards to our careers may have changed as well. Families do not worry, we will tell you when we get back...fingers cross it works! The town at night was simply stunning, all lit up with little narrow cobbled streets with those laterns swaying, I was impressed. 3 days here was enough though as Kay and I like to keep busy...so we had to move on to the hustle and bustle...the beds were rock hard as well, i was ready for a comfy bed!

Now it was onto Beijing...and the Great Wall of China, we couldnt wait. Beijing was a crazy place. We loved our time here and wish we had more. Our days were really crammed with sightseeing as there was so much to do here. And my wish was granted...the bed was soft and better still the pillow too!!! Thank you Happy Dragon Youth Hostel!!!

It went a little like this, Summer palace which had amazing gardens real quiet and views, the Forbidden City, which blew me away. For a place like this to exist in the middle of a bustling city was incredible and to be kept so prestine considering its around a thousand years old was amazing. It was huge...the more we went on the more there was. Also there were these freaky trees like the ones you see in Disney films when they enter an enchanted and scary forest...these trees were exactly like them! We hit Temple of Heaven which was probably the worst of the sights but still impressive Not impressed!. It had an amazing park which was completely silent in places, which was really wierd for such a busy city. We went to see an acrobatics show which was really impressive, people flying all over the place. I loved it...you cannot beat in my eyes people with raw talent. These guys were jumping through 6 feet high hoops, running and jumping on huge hula hoops...Cirque de Soleil is still better but this was close! We then headed to the Silk Market not a good place for us when we have an addiction! where all travellers go to stock up on fakes...this market is nutz, they are so agressive an physical, we both had had enough and had to get out as soon as we could! They shouted at me for leaving their shop, I was grabbed and held in many shops...I still have bruises! (dont worry I protected her inbetween I was getting knocked the F out) We checked out the Birds Nest, the Olympic stadium. To be fair to the Chinese, the stadium is crazy, and makes Wembley look like a childs lego project! True! London has a lot to live up to. The whole area though is dead, no cars, loads of old people flying their kites and just the tourists taking snaps!

However No trip to Beijing would be complete without a little Peking Duck. We both decided that we would do it in style and hit the best place in town....and concinscedently the most expensive. This is where all the celebrities go, so we had to give it a go. They bring this duck out, head and all and carve it in front of you, and its the juiciest duck we have EVER had!!! You even got a certificate with the ducks serial number!!! Think of the juiciest meat you have ever had (sorry any veggies) and then imagine even more and you have a small taster as to what we had. For future Crispy Duck Pancake people/lovers, add mustard preferably Dijon) to your pancakes with your Hoisin sauce and cucumber etc... and then tell me what is taste like!

And then we have the Great Wall. Kay and I decided to do the Great Wall properly. Kay has been excited about this for ages ages!!! and me, well not so much, I mean how amazing can a long wall really be?!? Amazing! Well I would soon eat my words. It was unbelievable. I have never seen anything like it. Just the vastness of it and the surrounding areas were stunning. We decided to hike 10km of the wall from a really run down part of the wall to a more built up part. This way we could see the wall in ruins and in its restored glory, and both parts were equally as impressive. It was a seriously hard walk, this wall is mental, 70 degree climbs and drops, bits of the wall falling apart as you walk across it. Madness, it even had Kay on her arse wiggling down this really steep bit at one point. look right it was steep and I was not the only one who was on their arse climbing down this wall! I had a dirty butt but i tell you it was worth it. We had perfect weather and could see the wall for miles. I am so happy we did the 10km because to have at some points, just you on this beautiful piece of history was truly majestic. One of the best things we have done on our trip.Ditto!!!

Beijing has so much to offer, we will definitely be back! Sooner than we may think my dear!

We said our goodbyes to Beijing and got on our last long train journey to Shanghai. We found Ciara's (the Irish family we meet in Xian on the Terracotta army tour), she kindly let us crash at her place apartment with no issues and what a fantastic place to stay. It felt like home, a fridge, a tv, just really homely I don't know who's home you have been staying at but they certainly don't have a maid!!!...so a special thanks to the Irish for looking after us and making our stay in Shanghai that much better! Ciara, Nigel and Sidney if you are reading this...thank you once again and the offer of London will always stand. We are also planning to get out lazy British butts to Ireland in the next year...keep in touch with your plans as well. Thank you!!!

Shanghai wasn't as good as we thought it would be. It was super polluted (you can't see 10 meters in front of you)! And there isn't much to do unless you've got deep pockets. There is nothing to do! We wandered around Old Shanghai which was really nice and checked out the really crazy building here which were really impressive, they would have been nicer if you could see them clearly!!! We went up the world tallest (open) building and without a spire/spike on top of it (trust us to be a world's anything the phrasing has to be perfect but the view was terrible, the pollution blocked all light from the sun!!! We could see nothing...50metres if we were lucky, but hey we went to the World's Highest Observation Deck in the World's Tallest Building (without a spire/spike!) We did manage to do some last minute Kay and Jit shopping which had to be the best in all of China. We spent 8 hours trying to spend as much money as we could, and I think we had a pretty good stab at it, I mean people come on its Mr Bling Bling your talking about here (and the good lady is becoming Miss Bling Bling....muhahah)!!! We are coming back here, no matter what and it is with an empty suitcase(s), a big wallet and not part of a world tour! Sangs, Vicky, Lauren, Mel (all the girls) together we shall come back and show them what shopping is all about!

We said our goodbyes to China with a trip on the worlds fastest train (Maglev) which was great. What a surprise...another 'World's something!!!

China has been an experience. You can say that again I've never travelled a country which I hated so much but loved equally. India my dear! Its a real love hate relationship. Im glad its over, but I think I will make a return trip someday...not soon but some day!!! I think it will be soon Its now onto Japan woo hoo!, lets see what the most western of Asian countries has to offer...as I type this we are a week into Japan and lets just say it has surpassed our expectations....WE LOVE JAPAN!!! But more on that next time! I love it here...anyone want to come here, tell me and I flying out with you. Japan and Vietnam is where it is at in Asia!

Until then, keep it real folks!!! Mwa!


Additional photos below
Photos: 104, Displayed: 32


Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0851s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb