Okayama International Villa- Shiraski Island


Advertisement
Asia
January 22nd 2006
Published: January 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Cool ViewCool ViewCool View

I walked up to the top!
Last weekend was unreal. I partied in Guuma Prefecture on Friday...Shinked it to Roppongi on Saturday night and somehow made it to Okayama by 12n to go to a villa with some of my friends. It really is a blur...I do remember laughing, being cold, eating and drinking lots of whisky! That's all that matters right?

I started the trip by eating a TUNA SAND-O from 'The Market' here in Okayama... It is possibly the best sandwich I have ever had, seriously. Anyway, the train ride was short and sweet and we all played catch up. There where 12 folks so we were loud and noticable as if 12 gaijin in the mono land of Japan is normal. We started snapping pictures as soon as we started out.

As we departed the train in Kasaoka, there was A LOT of staring. I mean, it was the country and there were 12 of us! It may have been a bit much for the locals. However, in the grocery store while we were stocking up on food and liquor, I smiled at a little boy eating popcorn. I said, “Oishii des ne?” and he said, “Hm, dozo.” And extended his cup
BURRRR!BURRRR!BURRRR!

Chan, Sylvia, and Danica. Notince how the Canadian is without a jacket... what is really going on? It was like 0 degrees.
to me… how cute!!! He wasn’t nervous or anything!

After getting our staples, we bored the ferry and rode to the island. It was beautiful. By this time, I was already tired. I had just pulled two all-nighters in Tokyo and worked in between them. I had also endured a 3 and a half hour Shinkansen ride to make it on time. I was more then ready for a nap! However, that was not to be the case.

Once we got to the Villa and put away all the food and drinks we headed out for a hike. UPHILL!!! I was really putout and TIRED, but I didn’t complain and I made it to the top which was worth the climb. We took a million photos and I climbed a rock. I was SO scared. It was so windy and high up. Everyone was in good spirits and didn’t seem to notice the cold, but this FL girl did. The view though distracted me from the fact that I couldn’t feel my right pinky toe.

Upon returning to the Villa, we started on dinner. I actually didn’t do much, but chat it up with Tehani and Ted
Still Cold!Still Cold!Still Cold!

Me in front of the Villa.
about this and that. I love talking to folks who like to debate topics minus the anger. Dinner consisted of Vegetable Spaghetti, garlic bread, and salad. Right as we were sitting down to eat, the Villa Manager came to collect money. As if! As we watched the food getting colder and ran to hide our two extra folks, she ever so slowly calculated and collected the money and then stayed until our dinner was almost over… random. Dinner still was delicious and semi-hot although some of us almost went into shock without the presence of meat…

After dinner, we immediately started to play KINGS, which is an awesome drinking game. I was really happy about this because it was held in the Kotatsu Room where it was nice and warm…cozy. Those freaking Canadians wanted to open windows!!!! Can you believe it? They have ice water for blood! J After several rounds, strip teases, grand presentations, a berserk thumb master, feeble attempts at geography, and a very sad display of rhyming skills- we were quite intoxicated and content. I fell asleep listening to my friend Dan retelling a horror story about his trip to China.

However, I was awoken
Hiking and ClimbingHiking and ClimbingHiking and Climbing

Okay, we went on a hike. I was so tired...lol everyone else climbed the rock so I did too, but it was SCARY up there! I couldn't stand up! I have no rock climbing skills...
minutes later by the clatter of several folks wanting to go to the BEACH. I was not having it. It was so cold outside and windy… I knew that I would not make it there and back without passing out…lol… so I let that boat sail as I drifted into a deeper and peaceful sleep.

I really enjoyed this little getaway and I was so happy to have been there for Dan’s going away. I do recommend the Villa, but bring LOTS OF WARM CLOTHES if it is the wintertime!







Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Dan and ChanDan and Chan
Dan and Chan

This is my BUDDY 4 LIFE... Center Minami... enough said
Danny Boy...screw it on tight!Danny Boy...screw it on tight!
Danny Boy...screw it on tight!

Kerosene heaters... WHAT? Dan was struggling to pump that gas...lol when he got it to work he was so happy he even did a dance...lol
Drink it upDrink it up
Drink it up

You gotta drink, eh?
FOOD!!FOOD!!
FOOD!!

Great dinner... no meat, but that's okay, right?
Supa Cawaii!Supa Cawaii!
Supa Cawaii!

That's super cute in Japanese!


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb