Do as the Romans


Advertisement
Asia
February 11th 2009
Published: February 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey friends,
I'm good! I'm having a good experience here and things are good - actually i am getting pretty spoiled here~ ! I have a driver and a daily housecleaner and great food every night !
Downside is the internet is throttled and on a good day I can connect at 200kbps! yawn.....
and i miss the California wine -here you have to have a license to but any alcohol and you can't get a license unless you are a resident and you can't be a resident without a sponsor and you can't get a sponsor unless you are a man! But the better hotel bars will serve non muslims
You hear the call of prayer announced on the loudspeakers at 6am, noon, 4pm and 7pm and the whole city stops (well the locals anyway )
So I thought I would see how it is all covered up - what do you think? My Style?
it really is a different world here and the women are definitely not equals!- and yet in some ways could be any big city too.... lots of cars and traffic and noise and tall bldgs not SB!
I went for a camel ride and will go to a grand mosque this weekend

Take care and stay in touch!
Paige
ps - i don't normally where the burqa




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



5th March 2009

OK, Paige, you've really taken the term, "going native", to the max. You look divine in your black outfit. I'm so glad you are enjoying things there. Yes, there's nothing like a good camel ride on a Friday. How may ways can you serve mutton? In the news here, they stated that saying there is a recession in Dubai is not allowed and is punishable. So mums the word. Glad you are busy and not out of work. The Community Gathering was fun and your name WAS mentioned. Lots of love from everyone here...and me too, Paul

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb