Finale


Advertisement
Asia
February 8th 2009
Published: February 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The last day I Blogged I was preparing for my lengthy trip back to Canada via Manila, Bangkok, Qatar, London, Philadelphia and finally Toronto. I woke up with an awful fever and my body feeling like a pretzel that has been left out to stale then subsequently eaten by a group of rats. Perfect, on a travel day. Somehow I got myself in cabs, ferrys and planes and made it to Manila. Picked up by Lily's friend Alvin he suggested a quick pre-dinner snack (at this point Im used to constant consumption by the Philippinos). With no appetite I thought id just sit, however the restaurant owner proudly demanded I try some of his BBQ. Skewers of pork, chicken intestines, pig intestines, brain, chicken heads and cubed chunks of blood were presented in front of me. I sampled them out of pure respect feeling sick just thinking about food.

Returning to Alvins house I just wanted to sleep, however they had a surprise waiting for me. (PREFACE) When I was in Manila a couple weeks earlier the grandfather described how he used to eat dog and how amazing it is. He asked if Id try it if it presented itself to me, I said "sure why not" and was on my way.

Well the surprise was none other then 2 massive bowls of DOG Calderetta (Stew made from large chunks of dog mixed with tomato sauce and flavored with the dogs liver). The side dish was a sort of dog ceviche, minced and cooked only using the acidity of vinegar for a couple minutes. It was all quite tasty, the meat was sweet and tender with an abundance of skin. I asked the grandfather where they went about getting the dog meat knowing that it was illegal. He responded that my host Alvin asked their neighbor if he could have their pet dog! For whatever reason they were unable to deny his request, and I was now staring at the already strange meal with even greater perplexity. Somewhere some child is plotting against the bearded Canadian who killed his dog.

I slept for my 3 days in Manila just trying to rest, not being able to hold food down. Of course on the day that I do have to get up at 5am to travel to Bangkok, a massive feast of fried chicken, paella, hot dogs and sushi are waiting. I almost lost it.

Ive spent my last couple days in Bangkok resting trying to shake whatever infection I have, its a tough way to finish an another wise healthy 5 months but im used to all sorts of surprises by now. The toughest part is being here and not being able to eat the local food!

This trip has been the time of my life. I have learned and seen so much, I have enough stories to last a lifetime of cocktail parties, and have met some of the most amazing, interesting and unassuming people. As for me, Ive grown, Ive matured, my appreciation for what I have back in Canada is something that I will not take for granted upon my return. Being forced to adapt to situations and people every single day has left me stronger and more confident in whatever it is I choose to do in my life.

I still dont know who reads this. But thank you for reading along with my adventures, this trip was an adventure, a rollercoaster and a privilege.

And now its time for the curtain to fall and for Dave to buy himself a winter jacket.

For the last time,

Dave

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb