Big in Japan


Advertisement
Asia
January 9th 2006
Published: January 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Sake GuyThe Sake GuyThe Sake Guy

Welcome to Tokyo!
winter's cityside
crystal bits of snowflakes all around my head and in the wind
I had no illusions
that I'd ever find a glimpse of summer's heatwaves in your eyes
you did what you did to me, now it's history I see
here's my comeback on the road again
things will happen while they can
I will wait here for my man tonight, it's easy when your big in japan

when your big in japan, tonight
big in japan, be tight, big in japan where the eastern sea's so blue
big in japan, alright, pay, then I'll sleep by your side
things are easy when you're big in japan, when you're big in japan

As a self-admitted VH1 and 80s addict, I couldn't resist doing an entry with this song. All you 80s kids will no doubt recognize this as "Big in Japan" by 80s one hit wonder Alphaville. You may also recall the somewhat creepy video, which is a perfect example of misguided fashion choices in the 80's.

Since the good folks at Delta changed our flight schedule so that we could take the most scenic route possible, we stopped in many airports, including Tokyo Narita. This
Hello Kitty MousepadHello Kitty MousepadHello Kitty Mousepad

This looked really cute after a couple sake shots, but Stevan wouldn't let me buy it.
is my second time stiopping at Narita and I still haven't been to Tokyo yet. Next time.

Narita definitely gets a two thumbs up. It's easy to love a place where you are offered free sake samples less than 5 minutes after you get off the plane.

Although we weren't able to spend any time in Japan, we got a few photos at the airport. I was able to get photos of plastic food displays and the sake guy, but there were no Godzilla statues or pachinko parlors.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Plastic Beer DisplayPlastic Beer Display
Plastic Beer Display

Guinness, anyone?
Car DisplayCar Display
Car Display

Entertaining ourselves at Seoul Incheon airport
Car Display #2Car Display #2
Car Display #2

Stevan with the latest Daewoo auto technology


11th January 2006

so happy fun time for you!
Yay miss Amy! Thanks so much for letting me be a voyeur for your voyage! It's nice to know that you still think of us Winthrop folks from time to time - maybe one day we'll be able to actually SEE each other! I hope that you have very safe travels. Don't kiss any foul while over there! Jealous in Greenville, d.
7th February 2006

Sake no sucky
I swear I bought 2 bottles from that same guy last week (2/3/06) when coming back from Hong Kong/Bangkok. A lot better than that hot rice vinegar at the local Japanese steakhouses back here.
12th January 2007

mymi
Dear hi and fien thinks

Tot: 4.186s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.025s; 3; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb