Growing Pains


Advertisement
Asia
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's not exactly intestinal 'pain', but there's some discomfort that's been growing today and in order to entice me to eat, my hosts bought food they thought I would like from the market.

I ate because to avoid losing weight I knew I must, and have likely become host to one of the pathogenic enterbacters now disrupting the precarious balance of my own intestinal 'flora'! In all liklihood, the transfer occured not through zoonosis, but rather as a result of human contact.

How's that for incorporating those Biological terms researched earlier today!

My tastebuds have been traumatized with a dizzying array of things we would throw to the swine Here I check off on the fingers of one hand such delicacies as:
1. Small water snails (have you seen. the water here?).
2. Fried fish heads (obviously other families ate the rest ...lucky them!).
3. "Lump of fat" stew,
4. Fried fish skeletons to be sucked on and spat out.
5. "Raw bits of minced up cow salad", complete with a garnish of peanuts.

This final dish was my 'pii-esse (phonetic)) de resistance' while out on my date last night. I believe the meat is prepared by exploding the poor animal, and gathering only the pink bits from wherever they land.

That my ever attentive companion of the evening piled my dish with even more of the stuff everytime I took a mouthful (it's impolite to refuse food ordered to impress their female guest), did not endear me to him one bit.

Apparently I reached his minimal intake quota and the forced feeding stopped. I would love to be able to tell you how delicious it was. I would be lying. And so Instead, I shall amuse myself at least, by exaggerating certain details under the protective cover of "artistc license".

Enjoy!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb