Preparing to move on


Advertisement
Asia
October 30th 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Two bike helmets were stolen from the shack Sopaht lived in, two were given away to those who recued my bike from certain death in the Cardamom mountains during my last trip here, and two sit uselessly in Stung Treng because Sophat forgot to bring them.

This means that tomorrow I must purchase the seventh helmet within the two year period I've been visitng Cambodia and this is a typical example of the slow trickle of money down the drain. The fact that my Cambodia SIM card had been deactivated for lack of use and a new one purchased for $20, followed by a pre-payment for calling credit, is a second example. Actually, the list goes on. If it's not one thing , it's another and however tightly I squeeze the dollars into my fist, they melt like ice and drip between my fingers.

My PP room will eventually be paid by credit card before I return to the US. I come and go at will but have only to pay when I'm ready to leave Cambodia. Eating is cheap and todays food cost less than two dollars but it will be the wedding invitation donations and the occasional dinners with friends that will continue to knaw away at my poorly budgeted funds.

The days of shoestring travel are gone as far as Cambodia is concerned but in defense of this change, I admit to the benefits of being able to enjoy the company of Khmer on a level not open to many. Yes I talk too much and animate my speech, but here it works as a free form of entertainment and both parties appear to be equally thrilled with the contact made and the opportunity for greater intimacy.

Besides, someone needs to lend a burst of energy to the somnolent Khmer social dance scene!
Sent via BlackBerry from T-Mobile

Advertisement



Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.2388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb