A final word...


Advertisement
Asia
May 27th 2008
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

How can I summarise 6 months of time? I can't.

To comprehend, appreciate, reflect and mentally revisit 1000's of human faces, hundreds of places where I have slept, to those villages, towns, cities, countryside views, and hear all those conversations, - its impossible - this endless list doesn't even include the activities and experiences!

Highlights in short

Dubai:

That sunset in the desert.
The thrill of the wadi wadi waterpark - reverse waterslides (well its different!)

New Zealand:

The tuneful birds in New Zealand - I now wish I had a cd so these could send me off to sleep.
The empty roads and stunning countryside - there's nothing for miles and miles and miles
The stunning walking tracks - most of which all to myself
The quaint village life - the local post office, the tidy parks, the community feel - its something from 40 yrs ago.
The friendly Kiwis' - even in the Supermarkets. They are all so happy.
The exhileration of the Sky Dive, Kayaking, and Jetboating - activities to keep you busy for life..
The smoking volcanos

Australia:

The happy weekend at Frans - and of course enjoying the plush suburb life of Sydney
The total wilderness and atmosphere of the red Australia and eternally straight roads of the Outback
The Silvermine tour!
The funny Crows and Kwalas!

Malaysia:

The quaint tea plantations
The gorgeous Indian Food in Panang
That travelling feeling of the sleeper train
The animals of the Borneo Jungle and the stay at Uncle Tan's including the river cruise at sunrise


Philippines:

The mad cheeky bizarre Philippino way - that look they have and that cheek!
Island life of Malapascua - and yes the diving!

No experience wins over another! and then there's the stuff in between when my camera becomes my best friend - those scenes that stay in the mind a very long time; the sunset shots over the sea, angry surf on an empty beach, moonlit skies with different star consolations, deserts at dusk, amusing forms of transport making me chuckle its so mad, the smells of incense as the Hindu offerings litter the streets, the smoking craters and bubbling streets of volcano land, the sheer incomprehendable energy from waterfalls, the exhileration from letting go on some crazy activities, the deep conversations with total strangers, driving through postcard landscapes to the sounds of a 60's flowerhappy cd.

Then there's the really deep satisfying stuff!

I am so pleased I have managed to see so much of beautiful New Zealand and Australia with the aid of a car - seeing every corner and town that even locals don't get to see and...

to get off the tourist trail COMPLETLY and see some of the real Australia - thanks to a magic suggestion

...to forget about money just for a bit, so in exchange for a bit of debt which can be paid off relatively easily, I have memories for life of putting my body and mind in some near impossible situations, pushing me to the limits and getting the satisfaction I have made that happen!

Some things wern't new - certain off the wall road driving, and some of the attitudes and reactions of the Asian folk, some of the scenery maybe but so much was different as this was an extended trip - and which meant more planning organising, guessing and gambling. On the whole so much of it paid off, and with barely any emergencies or disasters!

In fact, to put it in perspective, the most hairy thing was the cross-wind landing at Manchester airport!

I feel immensely gratified and proud. I can now enjoy all the videos and photos - some of which I will specially select to make a trip portfolio 😊 I look forward to sharing these with all I know - I think going through these will only highlight our achievements - especially with the budget we had...

I've no doubt this experience has made me stronger and instilled a little more wisdom in myself than I had previously..its all such a good good thing for the soul it really is 😊


Its a kind of spiritual food. Ive stocked up for now and can rest and reflect which is important. Its too big a thing to take for granted, rush and dissapear again.

But it is addictive because when I know whats out there and whats possible, and the feelings that invokes it makes me want it again - and unfortunately the UK cannot give me that.

But for now I am happy and very pleased.

And last but certainly not least I am so pleased and happy and eternally grateful that Ben was willing to join me on this trip of unknowns, despite his anxieties which were as high as Everest at the beginning but eventually depleted as the perceived threats diminished...and now its rewarding for him, and for me to see him appreciate what he has accomplished, despite his reservations..and made him more hardy and wised up too... This sort of thing certainly keeps things, however mundane in perspective.

Its all so good 😊










Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb