I made it, I'm finally here!!


Advertisement
Asia
March 22nd 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Arrived on Wednesday evening, it really seems like ages ago already.
Changing flights and everything was relatively easily, mumbai was so strange looking when it came into view from the plane, the airport is mad, a shuttle bus takes you round the perimeter which is surrounded by santi towns, to change for international flights.
Anyway got a crazy taxi from airport to Chapora, it took almost an hour, it was a bit of a mad ride, glad I read a few blogs and was forewarned about the driving conditions which are totally crazy, however saying that I have been travelling to and from the beach by bike taxi, its exhilerating although you do see the odd tourist in a neck brace, but the taxi drivers are pretty good its normally the tourists that crash. Beaches are wonderful, spagetti and vagatour beaches only 2 - 5 mins by bike taxi.
Food is wonderful, anything you want and cheap, cheap, cheap.........
Beer is better, 35 rupees a bottle. I drank lots of them the night I arrived, Simon came to the hotel and took me to the bar, I met Angie and a lot of their mates it was great, most of them should be hanging around until at least end of April however curfews started from 11pm since the murder of Scarlet, so don't know what peope will do.
I might go south for a couple of weeks and then come back don't know yet, met an austrailian who is going and it would be great to do my first train ride with someone else.
My hotel is lovely and the family that run it are great, I might ask them to look after my stuff and come back this way.
Saw a huge rat the other night in the hotel garden!!!!
It was massive, then saw another not so big by indian standards, was glad to get it over with hope I don't have to see too many more. Have not brought any food into hotel room so as not to attract them!!! They have to be the worst part of India, besides the poverty of course, its unreal, some people have simply nothing! Lots of begging and kids touting on the beach but you can't buy from all of them. Saying that I bought a few things yesterday, everything is so cheap,I defo brought too much stuff with me- will have to dump it to buy new light stuff.
Stopped taking the malaria tablets as felt like side effects were starting, anyway got bitten 3 times!!!
Huge storm last night, thunder and lightning - pretty amazing but was a bit nervous and went back to hotel at 10pm, inevetibly there was a few power cuts I was delighted to have my mag lite...CSI style.

Anyway I am going to head off now get ready for the beach, looks like it could rain a bit, also power still going on and off so want to finish this while the going is good.
I'll be back
gxx

Advertisement



27th March 2008

Side effects are better than malaria
Gail, you really ought to keep up with the anti-malarials. I know some people who have had thier lives messed up by malaria. The side effects are the least of your problems. Enjoy the beach and steer clear of the rats!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb