just another day at sea...


Advertisement
Asia
February 1st 2008
Published: February 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone. Just wanted to ask for happy and healthy thoughts to be sent to my part of the world. I woke up in the night wheezing and during class this morning I was sick to my stomach. The doctor thinks it’s bronchitis or even early pneumonia. He’s not sure why I threw up, but if it happens again they will run more tests and I will be quarantined (they have to quarantine people with catch-able diseases because we’re on a boat & the country won’t let us dock if more than 20 people are sick). I’ve been feeling pretty miserable the last few days, but I thought it was just a bad cold. I’m on antibiotics so hopefully I’ll be better by India. Anyway, I’ll be spending the next couple of days in bed, so if anyone has suggestions of how to keep myself entertained with no internet and no television I’d appreciate it!

Also, I checked my email briefly this morning and had a pretty random email from another Megan Carpenter. She googled our name and my blog came up as one of the top results. She’s a freshman in college studying in Spain and also plans to study International Relations. She said, “…Anyways, you are right when you say that even on some level, "everyone can connect to being young, independent, and completely lost in the world." I hope you do get to see the world because I know that wherever I go (which I hope is everywhere) at least I know another Megan Carpenter is seeing a part of the world I may never get to see but wanted to.” I just thought that was pretty amazing and I wanted to share. Maybe my urge to travel and explore comes with the name?

January 31, 2008

We saw Singapore and Malaysia!

This evening after dinner, we sailed past Singapore and Malaysia…we were so close you could see the windows on buildings! It was pretty exciting to see land, especially land of a new country. We all filed outside and took pictures, which I’ll be sure to post in India. We also have a lot of forms to fill out for our arrival in India, which is always a tedious process. In fact, I already messed up my arrival card and will have to go upstairs to reception to get another.

I’m still feeling pretty sick. I’ve made all of my classes, but I spend most of my time sleeping or reading for class. Hopefully this will pass soon and I’ll feel better before disembarking on Tuesday!


Advertisement



2nd February 2008

Awww!
Get well soon! I'm sending chicken soup-y thoughts. ;-)
2nd February 2008

get well soon!!
hey meg i am sorry to hear that you have been sick lately... tell you what, i was really sick (but the doctor couldnt figure out what was wrong) when we were sailing from singapore to india. i spent my day in bed and couldn't eat properly for almost a week, and i started worrying about myself that i might have gotten of the boat... but i got so much better when we got to india! so i am sure that you will be getting better by the time you get to india:) get well soon xx

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb