Japan


Advertisement
Asia
November 4th 2004
Published: November 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Shokoku adventures


Additional maps: Japan wide adventures

Shikoku adventures map


Japan adventures map



Saturday, 15 October 2005
Going, going ..... gone.
Arrived safely in Australia this week. I have indulged in the delights of Australia, otherwise known as iced chocolate, sundried tomatoes, smiths crisps and turkish pide.

Monday, 10 October 2005
Sayonara!
I have been in Kyoto for a week. I tried to camp at "Genkimura" but we got kicked out because... well, not sure really. There were either bears or more likely, it just isn't camping season in Japan. It apparently is only camping season for 2 months in a year????
Anyway... found a cheap little guest house (4100 yen for a private room) and have been feasting on Kyoto cuisine. Nepalese, Indian, Turkish, something else and of course, Japanese.yum yum yum.

Tonight is my last night in Japan - I will be eating another bento (boxed lunch), hopefully 3 more before I go.

Kyoto has been a much more pleasurable experience this time....I could even say atmospheric and enjoyable. The best days we just wandered, with no plans, and came across beautiful temples or parks - usually together. Will put some pics on soon.



Wednesday, 5 October 2005
Why I lovED Japan
I was bitching about having a hanko.. well I sold my car and disocvered the car dealer had a hanko MADE for me and STAMPED all the paper work over my signature (without my knowledge!!) to make the car sale valid. So it was quite simple to resell the car recently, once I found out I have actually had a hanko all this time - even though it is probably NOT registered - atleast a signature can be traced to a person - anyone can stamp a document.

Yet another brilliant aspect of Japan - as long as it APPEARS as though you did the right thing - the truth of what you did, doesn't really matter. Sometimes this is a very convenient piece of knowledge, other times it P#$$#$ me off!




Monday, 26 September 2005
Frustrations..
Until now, I have laughed at all the unnecessary paperwork and inconsistencies that one must do/put up with in order to get anything done in Japan. However, now, it is REALLLLLLY annoying me!
One post office would not allow me to send my clothes home! Yet, packed in a different box, today it was not a problem. Although I have not needed a hanko (name stamp) to BUY a car, today I need to get one and register it to SELL a car!!!!
Even though they do it regularly, sending money home is such a time consuming thing - because no one knows how to do, they constantly check books....it is driving me insane! Australia has never looked so efficient and organised.


Thursday, 22 September 2005
The end....
I finished work today - sooner than expected - due to even more hassles.....so.... I will probably be back in Oz quite soon....just have to book my ticket, see you soon! xx


Saturday, 17 September 2005
Fire Festival
By the way... last night I attended a fire festival... I am not sure of what the purpose was to heaps of excessively drunk men roaming the streets was... they were taking turns to beat (the crap out of) drums and carry a burning tree through a town.. at mid night... but I can honestly say, it is an experience I will never have again.


The time has come...
Yes... it is true.... I am leaving Japan. To cut a long story short, my renewed contract wasn't what they intially offered me, so... look out world, here I come!

Yes, it is sad, I do not want to leave Japan but... my job will be too boring under the proposed contract...nor can I face spending another 3 weeks to renegotiate... again! Apart from the bullet train, nothing is ever decided or done quickly here....the whole team has to discuss everything... it has its merits but.....

One of the most frustrating things in Japan, is feeling decieved because people do not always tell the full story. Not because they want to lie, maybe it is just not their place to do so, or the whole image of a place is more important than most other things. As a foreigner this is very difficult to handle. On the other hand, generally, the Japanese people in this area are sooooooooooo wonderful, it is going to be really hard to leave....

So, where to? Not sure - any ideas... let me know too!Thailand? Uluru resort? Okinawa? Seoul? Volunteer work in India????

Who knows.... but I will be back in Oz for a while - the chip and gravy withdrawals have finally become too much to handle...smith crisps, cadbury, Turkish pide, kebabs, BBQs....ohhh tanoshimi!!!



Tuesday, 6 September 2005
Typhoon #1
Today, I am trapped inside the dormitory (by the way, I live at the school dorm now). Outside there are winds stronger than I have ever seen. The rain isn't so heavy, but the wind whistles and howls, make it seem stronger. No lightening etc but still fun!

School was cancelled and when I look out the window the city has disappeared... I am on a mountain so the building in surrounded by cloud. It's great - who says dorm life is terrible??

To the astonishment of many people, I am really enjoying the dorm. The kids are slowly overcoming their shyness to talk to me and my Japanese is improving rapidly. Apart from being told, when to eat, what to eat and when to bath it's fine. I even get the 14 person bathrooom to myself everynight...



Thursday, 25 August 2005
Thank God I live in Japan!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am glad to be back because:

# although my Japanese is bad, atleast I can commmunicate most things, unlike in China.
# Japan is clean.
# I like ordering food when I am sure I won't recieve ears, feet, intestines and eyes.


Ps For the rest of the dirt on China, go to:
Chinese tales

Wednesday, 20 July 2005
I'm off!
In Kyoto (Japan) for 2 nights before catching ferry to China.
A little disappointed after my first day in Kyoto. It isn't as cultural and traditional as I expected. However, soon going to have a type of eel (anago) for dinner. Food as always may save the day and my impressions of this place.... a sushi shop in Kochi makes it prettty good though... can Kyoto live up to Kochi?????? stay tuned........ xx


Tuesday, 28 June 2005
Mao
Anticipating my visit to China next month, a friend of a friend gave me a book to read. I highly recommend "Red China Blues" by Jan Wong.
Although it has completely shocked, worried and confused me at times, I can't put it down.
The author lived in China through many of the main events... intriguing but eye opening... maybe Oz/Howard isn't sooo bad... I can't believe I said that either...

Check these out for a brief history lesson if you are as un-knowledgeable/naive as I am...

http://www.nationmaster.com/encyclopedia/Tiananmen-Square-protests-of-1989#Today

http://www.nationmaster.com/encyclopedia/Tiananmen-Square-protests-of-1976

Geeeeeeeeeeeeezzzzz!


Tuesday, 21 June 2005
Driving in Japan
Now I have been here a while I am not so shocked by the driving rules, or lack of them here.
My favourites include:
# it is ok to park ANYWHERE as long as you use your hazard lights.
# it is not a problem to drive over the middle line, into oncoming traffic, to avoid a cyclist or scooter.

Monday, 20 June 2005
Only in japan would...
I be given a new carton of eggs when it was my fault for not carrying them properly. I went back inside to apologise for dropping the eggs. The staff insisted on replacing them, despite my best efforts to explain in Japanese what happend and it was my fault (translated I was bad, no new eggs, I'm sorry).
I love this country!


Saturday, 11 June 2005
wan paaku kochi
Visited the local zoo - many great sights in terms of interesting animals but the best was the $2 ride... we hooned all over the park...very slowly..

Sunday, 5 June 2005
Ashizuri cape
Highlights
# an aquarium strangely resembling Dr Evil'S secret lare..
# gorgeous sea views.
# a group of Japanese ladies getting very excited after having spotted 50 dolphins swimming by.

Friday, 3 June 2005
Fireflies
mita koto ga nai! (I have never seen fireflies)... but I have now...


Tuesday, 24 May 2005
Kazurabashi (Vine bridges)
I spent the weekend camping in a closeish valley. Main highlights included:
# getting in the little hut thing and then pulling ourselves across the river (hoping my japanese reading is ok and it did actually say the weight limit was 3 bodies).
# laughing when it rained on Sat night, only to wake up Sun and discover all my clothes were saturated. Then having to wear them on the 2hr drive home.
# a natural onsen, in a valley (needed a cable car to get down to it and back).
# the vine bridges that we actually went to see.
# walking across the bridge at 11.30pm, by moonlight, hoping the things brushing my hands were not spider fangs. Kazurabashipics


Thursday, 19 May 2005
Ikebana (Flower arranging)
Ikebana is the very sophisticated art of arranging flowers. Initially, I thought flowers were simply arranged on a spikey thing, in a pretty vase. Now, (after having a private lesson every week thanks to Machiko sensei, a lovely teacher at my school)I am aware of a few rules and have forgotten many!
Flowers must be placed in certain areas, on particular angles - there is definately a knack I have not yet acquired. Some of my 'masterpieces' include... (Look at the pics!!)
Ikebana


Monday, 16 May 2005
Katsuo matsuri
On the weekend we went to Taisho for a fish festival. The local specialty is Katsuo. It is lightly cooked over a straw fire, but mostly raw.

There was an event - teams had to run over floating wood panels to collect katsuo....


Thursday, 12 May 2005
Haruno no yu
For Pete's birthday we stayed at nearby hotel, which just happens to have Pete's favourite onsen... and a waterslide.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb